G3 iMac

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by tokelokenem, Nov 19, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    #1
    I was holding out on making a thread, but I can't find an answer.

    I got a G3 Blue iMac slot loader and it was booting with a system folder icon. Put in a 0S9 disk, everything loaded, but it couldn't find the hard drive.

    Put in a OSX 10.4 disk in, and it froze during opening disk utility.

    Now it won't boot at all. Sometimes I get a single beep followed by the startup sound, I can hear the CRT turn on but no screen. Then the power LED goes dim, and or flickers a little bit followed by some faint popping sounds. Sometimes the power LED is just dim, no sounds, CRT dosen't turn on.

    I hooked it up to another CRT via VGA and it will do the same, but show just a blank grey screen on the external CRT.

    I put in a new PRAM battery thinking that might be it, new HD, reseated the ram, still not working.

    I don't know what is going on here.

    It all started after I loaded up the OSX disk. I never got close to installing it though.
     
  2. Graveyard, Nov 19, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2012

    macrumors regular

    Graveyard

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Location:
    Romania
    #2
    Check the ram. That's the first thing to do and then try and replace the hdd with a more recent model if it still has the original one inside.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    #3
    I've reseated the ram about 4 times now.

    Sometimes after the startup sound, and after I can hear the CRT start and CD drive start, it seems theres not enough power and the LED goes dim and makes a slight popping/ticking sound. It's not the HD though.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    #4
    Well, its working right now. It's on it side, and connected to an external CRT.

    All I did was lose a screw in the case when it was upside down and I shook it around untill it came out. Yes it was heavy. I also pressed a little button on the bottom of the logic board and took out the PRAM battery.
     

Share This Page