G3 RAM compatibility question

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by livingfortoday, Jun 1, 2006.

  1. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #1
    Hey, I just figured out (with help!) that my Powerbook G3 can see PC133 RAM, but it only sees one side, I believe. I put in a 512MB piece, and it saw 256MB. If I get a stick of 256MB PC133 RAM and put it in my Powerbook (Lombard, btw), will it see the whole thing, or just half again, at 128MB?
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    This is just from memory, but I think the Lombard's maximum amount of RAM is 512 MB (2 x 256)
     
  3. livingfortoday thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #3
    That is true, which is why I think it only saw it as 256MB instead of 512. But I've read that G3's will only "see one side" of newer RAM, so I'm wondering if it will see the full 256 stick or not.
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    It should. I only know that the Pismo went to 1 GB. Some newer RAM has density issues. (I forget if it's high or low.) That cause the memory to either not be seen or only half.
     
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    The issue is not PC133 vs PC100 vs. PC66 -- it is the construction of the particular module, whether the chip density and organization is compatible with the machine. If you are buying RAM, choose a reputable vendor who texts and guarantees compatibility with your specific model Mac
     
  6. livingfortoday thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #6
    I agree when it comes to new RAM, but I'm looking at buying some used RAM pulled from a Powerbook G4 in the Marketplace, so I wanted to know if there were any size problems I would have.
     
  7. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #7
    Yes, there could be problems.
    The 512 is not compatible in any way

    A 256 will have to be a low density device, and who knows if the chip programming will be correct to allow it to run at the slower speed and report the correct configuration?
     

Share This Page