G3 Setup (Display, Keyboard, etc...)

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by silentwulf, Aug 27, 2010.

  1. macrumors newbie

    silentwulf

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    #1
    This may be a really dumb question, but it's been a long time since I've worked on older PowerMac models, but...

    Do you need to use a special Apple display, keyboard, or mouse with a PowerMac G3? I remember some older models requiring you to use the proper Apple hardware, such as an Apple display with the unit.

    The reason I'm asking is because I've been thrift-store hopping and found a G3 for sale, but didn't have the chance to actually look at the unit.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    SuperJudge

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    The Triangle, NC
    #2
    A Blue and White? No. Any VGA display and USB keyboard and mouse will work.

    Beige? You'll probably need a display adapter and you might need an ADB keyboard and mouse. Depends on how its configured.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    silentwulf

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    #3
    I just bought one from a thrift store for $10. It didn't include the hard drive, RAM, or a video card. I was able to pick up 512mb SDRAM, 40GB HD, and used one of my old PCI ATI cards. I have a 7500 Radeon PCI, and a ATI Rage 128.
    Would either of these work with a Blue/White G3?
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    SuperJudge

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    The Triangle, NC
    #4
    That Radeon will be an awesome card in that Mac. Great find at a great price.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    silentwulf

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    #5
    When I put either card in the box, the computer doesn't show any display.
    Lights come on, but that's about it. Do I need to use a specifically stated Mac GPU?
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    SuperJudge

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    The Triangle, NC
    #6
    Yes. If you're interested in attempting to flash the card you've got, try looking here.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    silentwulf

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    #7
    New problem time :3

    I have a 40gb hard drive in the G3. When I put in my OS 9.2.2 CD, and hold down the "C" key, I get the floppy-disk with a flashing question mark.

    I tried formatting the hard drive on my MacMini, under the MacOS Extended (journaled) format, along with the Apple Partition Map.

    Still no luck. I've checked the cables, and tried various drives, and still no luck.


    Any ideas?
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    silentwulf

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    #8
    Just noticed that the PRAM battery is missing. Odd that the system even starts up o,o

    Could that prevent it from reaching the hard drive?
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    raysfan81

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #9
    I think certain models can boot up without a pram battery. If it does it'll just tell you your in 1969 :D go and buy a nice Camaro while you are there!
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    silentwulf

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    #10
    Will do XD

    Any ideas on it not finding the hard-drive though? I've confirmed the IDE controller is Rev.1
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    raysfan81

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #11
    Have you tried to format the drive on another computer. I don't know what format os 9 used though.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    silentwulf

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    #12
    I tried formatting it on my MacMini, and still no luck.
    I think it may have something to do with the faulty IDE controller in the early G3 Blue and White models.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    raysfan81

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #13
    You could try to get a cheap bootable PCI ATA/IDE card from Amazon or somwhere and see if that works for you. That would at least let you know if the ATA bus is working or not.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors newbie

    silentwulf

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    #14
    I actually have one of those laying around, that I might finally get to try.
    I'll give it a shot and see if it works :3
     
  15. thread starter macrumors newbie

    silentwulf

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    #15
    No progress with the RAID card I found.

    I was able to pick up a G4 though, but am facing the same issues.
    I'm still getting that floopy disk with the flashing question mark. I've tried several drives, formatting them to HFS and HFS+. I still can't manage to get Mac OS 9 installed :(
     

Share This Page