G3 to G4 logic board swap?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by sick70malibu, Sep 19, 2010.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    #1
    Would it be possible to get a logic board with a 1.33ghz or faster processor out of a 12.1" G4 and swap it in to a G3? Are the parts even compatible? I know from building engines that certain years and parts are interchangable but I don't know about computers.

    Thanks
     
  2. Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    No, take a look at these two guides and scroll down to step 52 and 72.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    #3
    Forgive me for asking the stupid question, but why exactly is it not possible? Judging from the pictures it looks to me that the different boards mount differently in different cases?
     
  4. Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    If the cases and the boards are different, how should one fit into the other?

    Maybe someone already did that, otherwise we wouldn't really know. Have you found any examples of someone putting a G4 logic board into a G3 iBook?

    They look similar, but they are not, even if it is only mm in some places.

    G3 12" iBook logic board
    [​IMG]

    G4 12" iBook logic board
    [​IMG]
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    #5
    But in theory would a little bit of massaging with a file a bit of sand paper and asteady touch help? Or would it just be best to start from scratch and do a fresh custom build?
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
    #6
    even if you made it fit, the dc board, screen, ram, battery and possibly the hd cable wouldn't work
     

Share This Page