g4 400Mhz... osx 10.3???

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by ndmccormack, Aug 25, 2004.

  1. ndmccormack macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    I'm just about to upgrade my friends g4 to osx 10.3... is this a wise thing to do?
    its only a 400 MHz machine, one of the first g4's but it'll have 768/1024mb RAM... will it run ok?

    cheers
    Niall
     
  2. fowler. macrumors 6502a

    fowler.

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena
    #2
    I had a dp 450 with 256mb or ram and 10.3.5. Ran like a champ, albeit a tiny bit slow.
     
  3. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #3
    We didn't have the money at the high school to buy new computers for an aging lab. So we are running 10.3 on a lab of 450 Mhz G3 computers with no more than 384MB of RAM. A friend of mine was running 10.3 on his old 333Mhz G3 PowerBook before the screen died and he bought a new iBook. I think that it'll work alright. Back-up the HD. If it doesn't run fast enough to be worth the stability and upgrade, go back to 9. But I think that you'll be ok.
     
  4. Maclarny macrumors 6502

    Maclarny

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Location:
    MN
    #4
    I was running 10.3 on my 400 Mhz G4 PowerMac before I upgraded to my current 1.6 Ghz G5. It's ran just fine. No stability issues and barely any noticeable slowdowns. It should work just fine.
     
  5. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    I have a 400mhz Sawtooth and a 450mhz Cube--most of the time you won't even notice that it's 5 years old.
     

Share This Page