G4 450DP hard drive question

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by sohosid, Jul 25, 2007.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Location:
    Portland
    #1
    Hey all,

    I'm putting together a poor man's server with an old G4 450DP. I want to put 2 500GB drives set up as a RAID...but the specs of the G4 seem to suggest that anything over 120GB isn't supported. True? Anyone put a larger drive in with success?

    Thanks

    Mike
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    MIDI_EVIL

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Yes you can put in a larger drive, but it will still only read the 120GB.

    You need an SCSI PCI controller card.

    Rich.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    rezwits

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #3
    I have a G4/533 mHz Dual, with 2 x 250 GB ATA Drives installed. I used a Sonnet Tempo Trio Card with the Two ATA/133 Ports. Unless you have a card that is ATA/133 or something, usually the webpage describing the card will tell you "Large Drive Support", otherwise without a card you can't see >128 GB. External HD with Firewire you can see larger drives though. You could get a Serial ATA card, Parrallel ATA card, or SCSI card. It's up to you... but in anycase no you can't read drive >128 GB with the built in Parallel ATA/66.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Location:
    Portland
    #4
    Thanks guys,

    I've ordered the Sonnet Tempo ATA/133 card from OtherWorld, and already got hold of 2 x 500GB Maxtor drives ready.

    Mike
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #5
    933mhz quicksilver 500gb ATA 300 drive

    I have a similar situation except with a 933mhz quicksilver. Frys is having a sale on this drive,

    http://shop2.outpost.com/{YEI6zqx0ILcn1AR5yQrYMw**.node3}/product/4697788#detailed

    will it work in my computer?
     

Share This Page