G4 Digital Audio Overclock question

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Joony, Jan 7, 2005.

  1. Joony macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    #1
    So I followed this guide to overclock my 733mhz DA to 867mhz. It worked fine at first, so I took it back out to apply arctic silver. Popped it back in, dosen't boot, stuck on the loading screen. I shutdown, repower on, works fine! I look at the system profile, it's rated at 800mhz now! :(

    The weird thing is that I put that same OCed CPU into another G4, it shows up at 867mhz :mad:

    Do I need to reset something? BIOS? (i'm a Mac noob :))

    thanks!
     
  2. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #2
    Press and Hold
    Command + Option + P + R
    before you hear the startup noise to reset the PRAM

    It might help...
     
  3. Mertzen macrumors 6502

    Mertzen

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Location:
    ]KLGA[
    #3
    Did you see any noticeable performance increase if I may ask ??
     
  4. Joony thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
  5. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    arctic silver is conductive so if you got some of it on the circuit traces it could set it back to 800MHz, unlikely but it could happen.
     
  6. Joony thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    #6
    nope, no arctic silver anywhere except the core :(
     

Share This Page