G4 Dual 1Ghz vs. 1.6 Ghz G5

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by peiji, Nov 2, 2003.

1. peiji macrumors newbie

I need help. I'm trying to decide whether or not to buy a 1.6 Ghz G5 with the Radeon 9600 upgrade or stick with my Dual 1Ghz G4 with the Radeon 9000. I'm a designer running apps like Photoshop, Illusrator, Flash, etc. I've seen all kinds of tests on these applications but what about the normal functions like rebooting time, copying, etc. Basically just using Panther. Would the G5 be better? What the iLife apps? Do these utilize the MP? I've been debating this forever and I need to make a decision ASAP to sell what I've got if I'm going to do it.

2. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

Dont Hurt Me

be patient, you still have a great machine. max out that ram!

3. Thirteenva macrumors 6502a

I have a dual G5 at work. AMAZING machine!!!!

My opinion is biased but i say go G5 i think they are incredible machines and panther only made them better.

If i didn't need a laptop's portability i would have bought a G5 1.8 for home.

I would also recommend the 1.8ghz over the 1.6ghz, the extra speed, and better expandability of this machine is worth the extra $300. I also remember seeing benchmarks of this machine scoring better in most tests than the dual 1.4 G4 powermac.

4. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

edesignuk

I would say the only G5 worth upgrading to from a dual 1GHz G4, would be the dual 2GHz G5, and personally, unless I really needed the extra power, I'd wait until a dual 2.5-3GHz G5 before upgrading. I'd reckon that your dual 1GHz G4 will be as fast, if not faster than a 1.6GHz G5, and not far at all off a 1.8GHz G5, maybe even faster in dual CPU aware apps.

So in short, keep what you have, you're just throwing money down the drain with an "upgrade" to a 1.6GHz (or even 1.8GHz) IMO.

5. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

Dont Hurt Me

6. Thirteenva macrumors 6502a

Doh! outnumbered...