G4 firmware updates

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by mrdave79, Feb 26, 2007.

  1. mrdave79 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    #1
    I've just got my hands on three G4 AGP Power Macs and in my rush to upgrade them to OSX I didn't upgrade the firmware. I now find that I can't use 512mb Ram as it only works with the current firmware update. But I no longer have OS9 to boot from so how do I update it? Or where can I find OS9?

    I await your pearls of wisdom.
     
  2. pm7300 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    #2
    You got to boot up from another hd with OS 9 installed, then run
    firmware update. Maybe possible even from an external drive.
     
  3. FireArse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    #3
    Updates

    If it helps, could even be done with a FW iPod.
     
  4. mrdave79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    #4
    how does the firewire iPod boot work? sound interesting
     
  5. mrdave79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    #6
    ok so i don't have a firewire iPod and it looks like I still need to get my hands on OS9 to load onto one of my macs. Where can i get hold of it?
     

Share This Page