G4 iMac RAM - How can I test it?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by slapguts, May 8, 2008.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    slapguts

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #1
    Recent switcher here. Picked up a G4 17" iMac, and LOVE it.

    It could use a RAM upgrade, though. For some reason, the internal RAM isn't being used. The System Profiler claims the spot is empty. The easy to get to one on the bottom seems to be working fine, but it's a lowly little 256.

    I'd like to upgrade to its full potential, but am concerned the problem with the internal might be a logic board problem. Any way to tell?

    Should I just get a 2gb stick for the known-good slot? Where can I get one for less than the $87.99 Crucial wants for a 512mb?
     
  2. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    You need to specify the speed of your iMac G4 - there are two series that take different RAM types.

    If it is the 700 MHz or 800 MHz, your maximum is 1 GB with 2 x 512 MB PC133 modules (SODIMM on bottom, DIMM internally)

    If it is the 1 GHz - 1.25 GHz, then it takes up to 2 GB of DDR PC2100 RAM .

    Neither machine will support a 2 GB module of any kind.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    slapguts

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #3
    Thanks, forgot that part. Oops.

    800mhz.

    Is it possible to install a 1mb in the SODIMM slot?
     
  4. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    Nope. 512 MB PC133 is the limit per slot.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    slapguts

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #5
    Thanks so much for all your help.

    Is there any way to test if the 256 in the DIMM slot is bad, or if it might be the slot?
     

Share This Page