g4 imac won't let me burn to dvd-r. Sense key = blank check ?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by etart, Dec 9, 2006.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    #1
    I have a 17" g4 imac 800ghz with a super drive (not a new computer by any stretch)
    I'm getting two errors one follows the other when useing toast
    first i get Drive reported an error: sense key = blank check
    sense code = 0x00

    then i get
    the drive reported an error sense key = illegal request
    sense code = 0x21, 0x02

    This is when useing toast
    when i try to burn from finder it just says
    an error occured while verifying the disk.
    this disk may not work.
    mac gods please help me
    BTW the drive plays dvds and cds fine and burns cds also with out a fuss
    by the way i quite seldomely burned any dvds, though i've had problems leading up to this total failer.
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Are you using a different type (brand/new batch even) of DVD? Many DVD burners can be quite picky about media they'll burn to. My first suggestion would be to try another type of media, and should that fail, do a PMU reset (http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=95165). Short of that, you could do an archive and reinstall, and if that doesn't work, I think pioneer still sells compatable drives. :p
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    #3
    I have tried a few different brands of dvd-rs (fujifilm and philips)
    both with the same negitive results.
    I have concerns that the drive may be on its way out and if so perhaps other functions may start to fail in due time
    such as dvd and cd playing and cd burning of which would suck to say the least.
    I'm a bit weary of reseting my pmu, having fears some how my computer will fail to restart altogether
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Usually (in my experience) when drives fail, its all in one massive failure. To ease your mind you can try and run the Apple Hardware Test (on the discs that came with your iMac). A PMU reset is very unlikely to do any damage to your computer. I've done it loads of times, and as long as you don't do it twice in a row its quite safe.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    #5
    how do I run a Apple Hardware Test, is that with the tech tools disk?
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    It'll say which disc its on on the disc or in the user guide/manual.

    Edit: I remember some iMac G4s having some problems with version 2.0 of the test. An update was released, but I don't think you'll have the problem because they released an update early on.
     
  7. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #7
    AHT is unlikely to diagnose this problem, it does not conduct write tests on the drive (obviously). All it will tell you is if the drive responds to the OS appropriately as a drive.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    #8
    ran TechTool Deluxe after updating and seems via that test all systems are a go in fact if i were to trust TechTool Deluxe my computer is without problems or errors
    though the dvd writeing problem presists,
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    #9
    What is (AHT)
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    #10
    ok i know what AHT is but i think all I have is tech tool, or at least thats all i can find to test.

    I'm wondering is there a way of reinstaling the software for the super drive in case thats what the problem is, maybe something in the software is alittle out of wack?
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #11
    Thanks CanadaRAM.

    Etart, You mean the firmware? While there have been updates for PowerMacs (like this one http://www.apple.com/support/downloads/superdrivefirmwareupdate.html) I think the iMac ones would have been incoperated with regular firmware. You could run the latest iMac G4 firmware package [again]. Its probably under your utilities folder if there has been one.
     

Share This Page