G4 powerbook failure--At start up the apple appears on the screen with the hour glass

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by jasonsowers, Dec 29, 2008.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    #1
    This is my first post so disrgard me being a noob. I have had a few macs. I have a g4 1.5 powerbook that I use everyday.

    Today I went to turn it on and all I am getting on the start up is the Apple symbol and the hourglass circle that just keeps spinning.

    I am pretty sure the hard disc is the problem. Bc, I can't hear it spinning.

    Any ideas? Thanks for the help in advance.

    Regards,

    Jason
     
  2. macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    Are you able to boot to the DVD that came with your computer? (Or the Mac OS X DVD if you've upgraded since you bought the computer.)
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    #3
    I have the disc. I have put the os x install disc in but i dont remember how to get it started. Do you have to hit one of the function keys during the start up?

    I am mostly concerned about the 60 plus gigs of my music that I think might be gone.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  4. macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #4
    There are a couple of ways to boot from the DVD, but I suggest holding the option key until you get a menu of drives/partitions to boot from. Since you have a slot-loading drive, if you haven't been able to insert the disk, you can do so now and it should appear in the menu after a few seconds. Select it and hit return to boot from the disk.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    #5
    Is there anyway to salvage my music collection. I really am not concerned about the powerbook. Mostly my music collection is my pride and joy.
     
  6. macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #6
    There may be, yes. It just depends what is wrong with your computer. Have you tried what I suggested?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    #7
    Yes, I did do what you have suggested. I came up with an error code.

    2 Mem/104/4: sod1mm1/j25upper

    It say memory (which I am thinking is my ram)

    Mass storage has passed.

    So I am thinking my hard disc is fine.

    I am going to take out my ram and reboot the system.

    Am I headed in the correct direction?

    Thanks!
     
  8. macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #8
    Well, aside from the fact that it won't start at all with no memory in it. ;) You could try removing and re-inserting the memory to ensure that it's not loose or anything.

    Yes, that's the way I interpret the message as well. Your music should be safe, although for the time being it is inaccessible without physically removing the drive. There are a few things left to try before we go down that road, though.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    #9
    I am doing the extended test now about a half hour it is calling for.

    I took out the memory and it is still the same only no errors and everything has passed. But that was with the quick test.

    So with no added ram chip in it is still showing the apple with the circling hour glass.

    Thanks for helping me out you don't know how much i appreciate this.
     
  10. macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #10
    Well, that it will boot to hardware test is a good sign. You're running it with the memory in, yeah? That should show up any problems in the memory if that's where the issues lie.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    #11
    I took out the EXTRA RAM. Now I am running it with just the built in RAM. Or is that the only ram that it has is the removable ram?
     
  12. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    #12
    I just got done. Everything passed. I am loading it right now with my fingers crossed. So I am thinking the removal RAM is what is the problem.

    HOPEFULLY!
     
  13. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    #13
    Samething. Apple screen with spinning hourglass.

    Anymore suggestions?
     
  14. macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #14
    Can you boot of your OS X cd and run diskutility?
     
  15. macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #15
    Have you run hardware test again with the memory re-inserted?

    For the record, you will also need the stick of memory in order to boot to the Mac OS X DVD.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    #16
    I am trying it right now with the stick of ram installed.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    #17
    So I have to have the stick of RAM installed in order for my notebook to work? I thought it had built in ram?
     
  18. macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #18
    Same laptops had built in ram it's a physical part of the motherboard, i no my powerbook does.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    #19
    I am pretty sure my powerbook has a built in 512.

    How do i get os x dvd to open duuring start up?
     
  20. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    #20
    I just realized I had 2 sticks of ram I removed the upper bc that is the one that had the error code and swapping them.

    Fingers are crossed
     
  21. macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #21
    to boot of your CD press "C" when you turn the unit on.
     
  22. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    #22
    What do I do once I am in disc utility?

    BTW swapping the ram sticks did not work.
     
  23. macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #23
    When your in disk utility you need to click on the hdd and then run verify disk. If it finds anything you need to press repair disk.

    Any errors it finds will be in red. Also once that is done verify and repair the permissions too.
     
  24. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    #24
    will this lead to loss in my media (my music)?

    I am doing it right now.
     
  25. macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #25
    Don't believe that it will. But anything can happen with technology it pays to have backups
     

Share This Page