G4 Processor into a G3 Tower - Need Advice

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by mmathis, Aug 9, 2003.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    #1
    I have a blue and white G3 300 Mhz. My friend gave me the stock processor out of his G4 450 Mhz. Can I swap the G4 into mine without any problems, or are there other things that I must do in order to make it work correctly? Any help would be much appreciated.
     
  2. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #2
    If it came out of the Yikes 450 (60x FSB), probably will work.

    If it came out of any AGP G4 (MPX FSB), it is running a different FSB.
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
    #3
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    #4
    Thanks for you help, guys, but I opened the case today, and it doesn't look like it's going to work. The card that the processor sits on is connected to the motherboard differently on the G4. The only way it might work would be actually lifting the processor off of it's card, and grafting it onto my stock G3 card, but even if that were successful, i would be doubtful it would even work. Oh well, looks like it's time to order a G5!
     
  5. macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #5
    Processors are not, and have not (since the early 80's) been interchangable on Apple computers. The only way to upgrade is to purchase an upgrade card, 3rd party... expensive, in other words. Never expect to be able to swap processors, it's something Apple doesn't think one should be able to do (they're right, for the vast majority of users)...

    pnw
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    The Valley
    #6
    not going to work. Sell the card for $$$, g4 processors are worth money
     

Share This Page