G4 RAM upgrade

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by ccross13126, Apr 1, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    #1
    Will any PC133 Low Density Non-ECC RAM work in my G4?
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,783
    Location:
    Ohio
    #2
    Not just any. My buddy had a G4 and bought some cheap ram off e*bay that worked in an old PC but was not compatible with his Powermac. Best to check that it is Mac compatible.
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    #3
    I have a box of Kingston PC133, was hoping something in there was compatible :)
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,929
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #4
    Only thing you can do is put in there and try booting it. If it works it is good, if not then it is not.
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    #5

    It wont harm the system if its in compatible? Dont wanna destroy my $20 investment :)
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    adcx64

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,167
    Location:
    Cudi Zone
    #6
    Agreed with Nameci. You can't hurt the computer with this method.
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    #7
    Great! I wanna get up to at least a gig or more. After that, I'll tackle the vid card and save the CPU upgrade for last :)
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,929
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #8
    Please take note that these machines are very picky about RAM. Low density, PC-100/133 SDRAM. I have the powermac G4 that precedes yours, the "Yikes" which is a PCI graphics.
     
  9. macrumors 68020

    zen.state

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,182
    #9
    The B&W G3 and Yikes G4 (same logic board) are far more picky about RAM than the AGP towers. The memory controllers from the Sawtooth on are far more compatible with different timings.
     
  10. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,929
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #10
    Thanks for the info Zen.

    Not to hijack the thread, I have those two, the B&W G3 and Yikes. Both are still working, both running OS 9.2.2. And they are picky with RAM.
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    #11
    I found this while researching for the correct memory:

    http://ask.metafilter.com/30018/Can-I-use-PC-ram-for-my-Mac-G4

    According to them it shouldnt be that hard BUT, that was written in 2006 I believe :)

    I have plenty of RAM to try. There should be something in there that will work. If not, PC100/133 is pretty cheap.
     
  12. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,929
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #12
    I believe for PC-133 it should be CL3 3-2-2 or PC-100 CL2 2-2-2...
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    #13
    Tossed 4 Kingston 512mb sticks in and it booted right up. Reading 2GB of Memory. I was planning on at least half a day to get even 512mb total working :)
     
  14. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,929
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #14
    Congratulations! Now you are on the road to become a weekend tinkerer, or you are already?
     
  15. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    #15
    Mostly a PC tinkerer BUT, I'm broadening my horizons :)
     
  16. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    18,174
    Location:
    Inside
    #16
    Macs are Personal Computers. They use a lot of the same things in the same ways.
     
  17. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    #17
    They just cost 10x more ;)
     
  18. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    18,174
    Location:
    Inside
    #18
    Not always. In most cases when pricing out a Dell or HP with the same specs, Macs are usually cheaper.
     
  19. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,929
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #19
    Ah that would be a another discussion thread. Anyway, it is just a pity the machine is limited to 2GB max on the memory because of the firmware. I have seen 1GB sticks of PC-100 SDRAM. If it has 4 slots, 4 x 1GB sticks can be installed, would it still be read as 2GB or the mem controller would not read all?
     
  20. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    18,174
    Location:
    Inside
    #20
    Aren't the 1Gb PC100/PC133 ECC or high density ram?
     
  21. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,929
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #21
    I have checked some from ebay and it doesn't state that it is of low density, but they are ECC's and server grade.
     

Share This Page