G4 TO G5 upgrade?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by monkeychild, Nov 12, 2005.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    #1
    Hey pplz.
    I just have a little question for u guys.
    My family and I bought a Mac a while ago. It was originally a PowerMacintosh G3 but they upgraded it to a G4.
    Do you think it's possible to ugrade that to a G5?
     
  2. macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #2
    No its impossible so the answer is a 100% No.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    #3
    ok.... any reason why?
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    #4
    Because whilst a G3 to G4 upgrade card was released for that model there has not been a G4 to G5 card released. So it's simply impossible.

    And would there even be a market for it? People would much prefer to buy a base iMac G5.
     
  5. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #5
    Yes, it would be like trying to install a Lingenfelter Turbo kit designed for the newest Corvette on a stock Ford Model T.

    Two entirely different engine technologies, even though they are both gasoline engines.

    Even if you get the Turbo kit to work on the Model T, you are still stuck with a vehicle not designed for the performance of the new equipment.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    #6
    ok but do u need a G5 to run os X
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    #7
    No. G3 or G4 is fine (G4 preferred of the two of course).

    You mean Tiger OS?
     
  8. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #8
    You need a computer with built in USB to run Tiger and a DVD drive is a huge bonus for installation.

    Basically, buy a Mac Mini.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    #9
    ya tiger
     
  10. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #10
    Ooops Panther was USB...

    Tiger requires a machine with Firewire.

    If that's a beige box, no go.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    #11
    i have a usb port if thats what u mean
     
  12. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #12
    If you want to run Tiger, you need built in Firewire.

    Basically these machines...

    http://www.apple.com/macosx/upgrade/requirements.html

    and you will also need a DVD capable drive, or you will have to try to get a hold of the CD version.

    So this machine

    [​IMG]

    will work, but you might not be able to use the DVD boxed retail version -- if you don't have a DVD drive.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    #13
    alright looks like the best choice would be just to save up for a new machine
    we've had this one for a couple of years now anyways
    thanks for your help
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    #14
    A nice Mac Mini would suit you well.
     

Share This Page