G4 vs Pentium M

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by PARL0PH0NE, May 19, 2005.

1. PARL0PH0NE macrumors newbie

May 11, 2005
    Like most potential switchers out there I am waiting for the upcoming Ibook update before I make my purchase. Today I decided to take a look at the 12" ibook and power. After trying them both out for a few minutes I noticed that it takes the laptop about ten seconds or more to load a program or any document. As a pc user I have had no experience with Macs. Is this normal for Macs, or is it an aspect of the Mac OS? I tried out the G5 desktops and they seemed to have this problem too.
  2. amholl macrumors 6502

Dec 21, 2004
    I have the latest 12 inch ibook. It is very snappy. Firefox, IM, Thunderbirdall open in around 1 sec. My office apps open in 3-5. iLife is the same as office. btw, my ibook is stock. It works like a champ on all ilife, office and online apps. With more RAM, it could run all the pro apps. Although my ibook is great, get a powerbook if your wallet can handle it. It is lighter, has better graphics and more ram and MHz. It is very similar to my fathers P-M 1.3 Ghz w/ 512 RAM.
  3. vniow macrumors G4

Jul 18, 2002
    I accidentally my whole location.
    The Pentium whips the crap out of any G4.

4. TreeHugger macrumors 6502

Jun 30, 2004
    Excuse me? I prefer the G4. My 1.5 ghz PB runs a lot smoother then my dell 2.0 ghz when working on 300mb+ photoshop files and thats when both had 512mb ram...
  5. Mav451 macrumors 68000

Jul 1, 2003
    That's not a Pentium M dude. The Pentium M is pretty much on par with an Athlon 64, clock per clock. Plus, since you call it a 2.0Ghz (not a Pentium M 755, as they are usually advertised), it sounds like you are referring to a P4-Mobile. P4-M's are horrible.

Its ok to get them confused. Quite a few sites ran articles explaining the differences between a P4-M and a Pentium M. Yeah, you definitely want to have the latter.