G4iMac Dual-Monitor

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by Ensign Paris, May 14, 2002.

  1. Ensign Paris macrumors 68000

    Ensign Paris

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Europe
    #1
    Hi

    I have just bought a pair of G4 iMacs as ISDN machines at my work (700mhz). When I take my 15" flat screen (NEC) of one of the normalisers (PDF making computers) and plug it into the iMac it just screen mirrors rather that give me the option of running in dual monitor mode. I cannot find any information from Apple about this, it would be very useful :)

    Basicly I need to run two monitors in dual mode from a G4 iMac, but it doesn't look like they can do it, can't anybody advise?

    Ensign
     
  2. gambit macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Location:
    Turkey
    #2
    Impossible

    I dont think its possible. Check the iMac G4 page and go to graphics.
     
  3. gambit macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Location:
    Turkey
  4. Ensign Paris thread starter macrumors 68000

    Ensign Paris

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Europe
    #4
    I went there but there was no information on running in 'dual' monitor opposed to just mirroring.

    Ensign
     
  5. ear2ear macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Location:
    Toronto
    #5
    From the above link

    "Support for video mirroring: external devices display an image identical to that shown on the built-in display."
     
  6. iGav macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    #6
    The new iMac only mirrors, doesn't support external monitors as extra displays....... :(
     
  7. Ensign Paris thread starter macrumors 68000

    Ensign Paris

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Europe
    #7
    I thought so, that is really annoying :(

    Oh well, I will survive :)

    Ensign
     

Share This Page