G5 1.6 ghz RAM and Powerbook 1 ghz "15"Ram

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by boomtopper, Jun 3, 2004.

  1. boomtopper macrumors member

    boomtopper

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Location:
    UK Huddersfield
    #1
    I am going to buy some memory for my powerbook or G5. I have found the best places to buy the memory "crucial", "Kingston". But i was wondering if it is possible to have uneven memory in the powerbook or g5. For example could i have 512mb in one slot and 1gb in another?
     
  2. Veldek macrumors 68000

    Veldek

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Location:
    Germany
    #2
    That‘s no problem. First, I wanted to add that the G5 needs RAM in pairs, but I think the 1.6GHz doesn’t.
     
  3. thehuncamunca macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Location:
    NJ
    #3
    on a G5 you need to install memormy in pairs of equal size
     
  4. boomtopper thread starter macrumors member

    boomtopper

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Location:
    UK Huddersfield
    #4
    I know for the g5 that it is pc2700 RAM but is it the SO-DIMM RAM or is it the 184 pin DIMM?
    I think the powerbook takes the pc2700 SO-DIMM RAM!
     
  5. Veldek macrumors 68000

    Veldek

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Location:
    Germany
    #5
    Use the Crucial memory selector. You just choose your model and it shows you what RAM fits in there.
     
  6. jxyama macrumors 68040

    jxyama

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    #6
    "SO" in SO-DIMM stands for "slim outline." as the name implies, it's slimmer than regular DIMMs - why they are used in laptops.

    G5 takes DIMMs, PB takes SO-DIMMs.

    only desktop machine that uses SO-DIMM for RAM, afaik, is flat panel iMac.
     

Share This Page