G5 2.0 GHz memory upgrade?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by chasemac, Jan 30, 2005.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    chasemac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    In a house.
    #1
    Hey Everyone,

    I just installed 2 x 512 MB ram today to the factory 2 x 256 MB. Everything seems to run fine. The system profile reads that I have 1.5 GB of ram. Although, I see under the speed list that all are running at PC3200U-30330 except the DIMM2 reads PC3200U-25330. Is there a reason for this? The memory I bought was Centon PC3200 DDR400 and are both the same.

    Thanks for any info! :)
     
  2. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #2
    Did you buy a kit (two matched pairs in a package) or two individual DIMMs?

    If you bought two individual sticks, they are probably out of a bin -- so there's a possibility of getting two different spec DIMMs (different batches.)
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chasemac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    In a house.
    #3
    I did not buy a kit. I bought 2 individuals. Is that gonna cause any problems?
     
  4. jsw
    Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #4
    Unmatched RAM might slow you down a trivial amount. The speed boost from matched pairs is rarely noticeable under most conditions - I wouldn't worry about it.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chasemac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    In a house.
    #5
    Thanks for your help. I'll try not to worry about it but keep a close eye on things.

    Thanks Again! :)
     

Share This Page