G5 Dual Quad 2.5Ghz – Processor swap

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by 5150SS, Jun 24, 2008.

  1. 5150SS
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #1
    I was recently given a non working G5 dual 2.5ghz machine. It is a quad core machine with the Delphi liquid cooling system. After some investigating I found it had a coolant leak. All the fans and lights come on as well as the bootup “chime”. I think (hoping) that the motherboard and power supply are still good. My question is this:

    Can I use different processors on this motherboard? Lets say a dual 2.5ghz non-quad core processor assembly. Am I making sense? I am very new to the Mac world and would appreciate any help on this issue.

    Thanks
     
  2. FF_productions
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #2
    No, just won't work. The G5's are very sophisticated and damn near impossible to swap processors.
     
  3. Tracer
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #3
    If it has no Applecare your out of luck.

    Apple doesn't even bother repairing G5's any more, they just give customers brand new Intel Machines.

    Tracer
     
  4. Lord Zedd
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Lord Zedd

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #4
    No. The G5's aren't remotely anything like the G3/G4 or Intel machines. You can't even swap a CPU of the same model and speed without the firmware freaking out, swapping a CPU from a different G5 generation is not possible at all.
     
  5. indiochano
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #5
    apple's planned obsolescence stategy wouldn't let you get away with that one... :D
     
  6. zmttoxics
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #6
    You can't swap cpus in a g5? I thought you could, it was just hard to find cpus because everyone is using them.
     
  7. Tracer
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #7
    The motherboard FSB is directly linked to each processor, so unless you get the same module (read: insanely expensive) it won't work.

    Tracer
     
  8. 5150SS
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #8
    Thanks everyone! That's what I was afraid of.
     
  9. zmttoxics
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #9
    You can always buy a g4 or something, gut the bad g5 and jerry rig the g4 bits into it. Have a really sweet looking g4. :D
     
  10. ReanimationLP
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #10
    Take it to Apple.

    Dont screw inside of it, just tell them that it was leaking coolant.

    I'm pretty certain they'll most likely repair/replace it for free, as those kind of liquid cooling systems arent supposed to leak.
     
  11. OMFG HAXX!
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    #11
    Really? Apple's customer support is that awesome?
     
  12. calvin200001
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #12
    what ever happend with this?
    mine did the same thing
     
  13. ThunderSnake
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #13
    I don't know what happened here, but you might find this to be of interest.
     
  14. calvin200001
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #14
    wow thats great! thanks for the reply!!
    I hope that happens. I called apple yesturday hoping for something like this.. and that gives me a great hope! thanks again.
    have a great day! :)
     
  15. Macdctr
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    #15
    Chances are, if you had a coolant leak then there might be more damage than you think. You can swap out the processor but you are very limited in this area. You cannot use a G5 Quad Core processor on your current motherboard, but you can use a good Dual Core 2.5 G5 processor or even get a 2.7GHz Dual Core G5 processor but that's pretty much it. Finding one shouldn't be too hard if you are patient and search on eBay.

    If swapping out the processor with a "known" good processor doesn't fix your problem then look at getting a replacement motherboard or new power supply.

    My Dual 2.5 GHz PowerMac suffered a coolant leak and I was lucky because all I had to replace was the power supply to fix mine.
     

Share This Page