G5 Dual Quad 2.5Ghz – Processor swap

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by 5150SS, Jun 24, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #1
    I was recently given a non working G5 dual 2.5ghz machine. It is a quad core machine with the Delphi liquid cooling system. After some investigating I found it had a coolant leak. All the fans and lights come on as well as the bootup “chime”. I think (hoping) that the motherboard and power supply are still good. My question is this:

    Can I use different processors on this motherboard? Lets say a dual 2.5ghz non-quad core processor assembly. Am I making sense? I am very new to the Mac world and would appreciate any help on this issue.

    Thanks
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #2
    No, just won't work. The G5's are very sophisticated and damn near impossible to swap processors.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #3
    If it has no Applecare your out of luck.

    Apple doesn't even bother repairing G5's any more, they just give customers brand new Intel Machines.

    Tracer
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Lord Zedd

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #4
    No. The G5's aren't remotely anything like the G3/G4 or Intel machines. You can't even swap a CPU of the same model and speed without the firmware freaking out, swapping a CPU from a different G5 generation is not possible at all.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #5
    apple's planned obsolescence stategy wouldn't let you get away with that one... :D
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #6
    You can't swap cpus in a g5? I thought you could, it was just hard to find cpus because everyone is using them.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #7
    The motherboard FSB is directly linked to each processor, so unless you get the same module (read: insanely expensive) it won't work.

    Tracer
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #8
    Thanks everyone! That's what I was afraid of.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #9
    You can always buy a g4 or something, gut the bad g5 and jerry rig the g4 bits into it. Have a really sweet looking g4. :D
     
  10. macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #10
    Take it to Apple.

    Dont screw inside of it, just tell them that it was leaking coolant.

    I'm pretty certain they'll most likely repair/replace it for free, as those kind of liquid cooling systems arent supposed to leak.
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    #11
    Really? Apple's customer support is that awesome?
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #12
    what ever happend with this?
    mine did the same thing
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #13
    I don't know what happened here, but you might find this to be of interest.
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #14
    wow thats great! thanks for the reply!!
    I hope that happens. I called apple yesturday hoping for something like this.. and that gives me a great hope! thanks again.
    have a great day! :)
     
  15. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #15
    Chances are, if you had a coolant leak then there might be more damage than you think. You can swap out the processor but you are very limited in this area. You cannot use a G5 Quad Core processor on your current motherboard, but you can use a good Dual Core 2.5 G5 processor or even get a 2.7GHz Dual Core G5 processor but that's pretty much it. Finding one shouldn't be too hard if you are patient and search on eBay.

    If swapping out the processor with a "known" good processor doesn't fix your problem then look at getting a replacement motherboard or new power supply.

    My Dual 2.5 GHz PowerMac suffered a coolant leak and I was lucky because all I had to replace was the power supply to fix mine.
     

Share This Page