G5 Dual Quad 2.5Ghz – Processor swap

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by 5150SS, Jun 24, 2008.

1. macrumors newbie

Jun 24, 2008
    I was recently given a non working G5 dual 2.5ghz machine. It is a quad core machine with the Delphi liquid cooling system. After some investigating I found it had a coolant leak. All the fans and lights come on as well as the bootup “chime”. I think (hoping) that the motherboard and power supply are still good. My question is this:

Can I use different processors on this motherboard? Lets say a dual 2.5ghz non-quad core processor assembly. Am I making sense? I am very new to the Mac world and would appreciate any help on this issue.

2. macrumors 68030

Apr 16, 2005
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    No, just won't work. The G5's are very sophisticated and damn near impossible to swap processors.
  3. macrumors 6502

Jun 20, 2007
    If it has no Applecare your out of luck.

Apple doesn't even bother repairing G5's any more, they just give customers brand new Intel Machines.

4. macrumors 6502a

Lord Zedd

Oct 24, 2007
    Denver, Colorado
    No. The G5's aren't remotely anything like the G3/G4 or Intel machines. You can't even swap a CPU of the same model and speed without the firmware freaking out, swapping a CPU from a different G5 generation is not possible at all.
  5. macrumors regular

Jun 7, 2008
    apple's planned obsolescence stategy wouldn't let you get away with that one... :D
  6. macrumors 65816

May 20, 2008
    You can't swap cpus in a g5? I thought you could, it was just hard to find cpus because everyone is using them.
  7. macrumors 6502

Jun 20, 2007
    The motherboard FSB is directly linked to each processor, so unless you get the same module (read: insanely expensive) it won't work.

8. thread starter macrumors newbie

Jun 24, 2008
    Thanks everyone! That's what I was afraid of.
  9. macrumors 65816

May 20, 2008