G5 Fans going Nuts!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Koree, Aug 11, 2006.

  1. Koree macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #1
    Um yeah, has anyone encountered this before?

    The G5 is a 2.5 dualie. It has the latest Tiger version. Not much more to say i'm afraid....

    Thanks ahead of time!
     
  2. Koree thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #2
    o, and its ok when i first turn it on, it just goes nuts after a few minutes.
     
  3. chasemac macrumors 6502a

    chasemac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    In a house.
    #3
    Try this. Shut down your mac and unplug any external devices. Then unlpug the mac for about 10 seconds. Plug everything back up and restart. Worth a try. Also, any 3rd party RAM used? It could also be an external device that is causing the problem. You can try to narrow that down by unplugging everything except the bare minimum and add a device one at a time until you get the fans grunning again. Thats all I got. Hope It helps.:)
     
  4. Koree thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #4
    tried it. I'm afraid its still going crazy. Maybe i should take it into a genius bar?
     
  5. Koree thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #5
    nvm, fixed it, just had to do something with energy saver. Now i feel silly. :eek:
     
  6. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #6
    Kinda off topic, but, when you put a G5 in target disk mode, do the fans usually run full blast?

    I've got an iMac G5 1.9GHz and it does it and it freaks me out. :eek:
     
  7. wowowowanimac!! macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    #7
    yeah i have a 1.8 g5 rev.a and it went full blast in hardware test
     
  8. SPUY767 macrumors 68000

    SPUY767

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Location:
    GA
    #8
    Ironically


    Stragely enough, I have my old Dual 2.5 in TDM right now and it's running nearly silently.
     
  9. winterdude010 macrumors regular

    winterdude010

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Location:
    New York
    #9
    This happened to me once. The Apple Support Chat guy said that you need to check your power supply to make sure its tightly fitting, tape the thing in if you have to :)
     

Share This Page