G5 FireWire issues

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Zeke D, Sep 8, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #1
    I replaced my G5 with another unit donated to me by another member of these forums. I did a fresh install of leopard. When I use system profiler, it shows in red that no FireWire information is available. I added a PCI FireWire card and it shows info on it. The internal FireWire ports don't work at all, but no problems with the PCI card. I would like to use the internal, as it has the higher speed FW800. Any ideas? No hope? Some hope?
     
  2. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Have you rest the PMU/PRAM/NVRAM? Do you have an Apple Service Diagnostic disc to test it with? Does it chime on startup?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #3
    Yes on the reset, disc and chime. Which test shoud I run under ASD?
     
  4. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    Probably everything except the memory test and maybe the FireWire tests twice.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #5
    Should I pull the FireWire PCI card before running ASD?
     
  6. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    Yes, try to make it as close to stock as possible.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #7
    Here is a screen shot of the failed Firewire
     

    Attached Files:

  8. macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
  9. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #9
    The logicboard's FireWire chip is dead. The only way to fix that is to replace the chip via soldering or replace the logicboard.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #10
    The FireWire is the only issue. Everything else passed with 5 loops. I will just toss in a FireWire pic card and call it good.
     
  11. macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #11
    The thing is I used to connect it to the PB with FW..800 to 400
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #12
    Dunno man, I'm not too worried. FW400 is still faster than USB. I have a card that will do the trick. I really only use FW moving music around, so once I'm done, I may not use FW for a while.
     

Share This Page