g5 iMac or save for PowerMac

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by lukasbarton, Sep 1, 2004.

1. lukasbarton macrumors newbie

Here's the thing, i'm an art student currently learning after effects, shake, and maybe even motion. I basically have the cash now to get a 17" g5 iMac. should i save up a little more cash to go for more screen real estate with the 20" or just wait about 6 months and go all out on the powermac. i dont want the imac to last me forever as a workstation, and dont even know if it will be sufficient with 2gigs of ram to run shake or motion. i plan on upgrading again after i get a full time job and graduate from school in 2 years. i just want a machine that can run shake and motion at home since i commute to school and dont have constant access to the labs. anyone have any idea how those programs will run with this machine based on the rev a g5 powermacs. i know the 5200 doesnt help but i wont be using this machine for gaming so lets not start that rant again. any input is greatly appreciated as this will be a switcher machine for me and i dont want to be disappointed with my purchase.

2. vraxtus macrumors 65816

vraxtus

If you really need a lot of power, get the PowerMac... my vote would go there.

But if you plan on upgrading in 2 years... I think the new iMacs should provide you with "acceptable" performance.

3. codycartoon macrumors regular

I would wait tell you can see the iMac's in person before you make your decision. The iMac would be more than suitable for two years and the sooner you start creating with it the better. It seriously is a very good deal, I would try to save up for a 20 inch, you have a month tell they hit stores (maybe more).

If you only want it for two years then what's the purpose of saving up for 6 months? You will spend a lot of money for a machine you will only have for a year and a half.