G5 in 24 season 3

Discussion in 'Current Events' started by Waluigi, Sep 8, 2003.

  1. Waluigi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #1
    I was looking at the preview for 24 season 3, and I noticed that they had a G5 in the background!! How did they get their hands on that? Filming started a while ago, I'm assuming. My friend has told me they started filming in july. Now that is just plain not fair...I'm still waiting for my G5, and they get one they aren't really using?

    Here is the screen shot:
    EDIT: *****I can't capture it, someone help******

    --Waluigi
     
  2. Waluigi thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #2
    Looks like you might have to scroll from side to side, and up and down to get the video source in view. Not sure what is up with that....must be becasue I used windows to do a screen capture....

    --Waluigi

    EDIT: Ok, it just isn't working anymore. If someone can get a screenshot of it, that would be great, because mine isn't working at all
     
  3. szark macrumors 68030

    szark

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Location:
    Arid-Zone-A
    #3
    Well, product placement is very rewarding, and having the G5 appear in such a highly-rated series at the exact time when they are shipping is a good move for Apple.

    Besides, they would obviously have a pre-production prototype machine.
     
  4. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
  5. Waluigi thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #7
    Thank you MrMacman!

    Thank you MrMacman! You are the savior to this almost failed thread!

    --Waluigi
     
  6. szark macrumors 68030

    szark

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Location:
    Arid-Zone-A
  7. kylos macrumors 6502a

    kylos

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Location:
    MI
    #9
    I was wondering if someone was going to notice the 17" pb. They show a much better shot of it elsewhere in the preview.
     
  8. Wes macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #10
    Looks like it, my chair is also on that show:

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Waluigi thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #11
    New F-150 (the sponsor of 24 season 3)

    I'm dissapointed that Ford is following Chevy's bad decision in their redesigning of their trucks. The new F-150 looks really ugly, and more like the new Chevys.

    --Waluigi
     
  10. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #12
    Re: Thank you MrMacman!

    Haha, anytime.

    :D

    And yeah it looks like a 17'' also, Most shows are Mac Friendly.


    Off-topic -- I find most Ford Truck over-weight and ugly.
     
  11. job macrumors 68040

    job

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    in transit
    #13
    The G5 *might* just be the case....

    I'm just trying to make you feel better Waluigi;)
     
  12. tpjunkie macrumors 65816

    tpjunkie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #14
    Big and heavy has been an ongoing trend among auto companies...my '93 blazer looks like a little toy when i pull alongside a 2003 blazer, which could easily be 30% larger.

    ps, I've been carefully correcting my mistakes, but this post could go under the "have u ever been drunk thread"
     
  13. ColoJohnBoy macrumors 65816

    ColoJohnBoy

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #15
    I'm betting it's just the case. They definitely would ship a few to them for such high profile product placement.

    Personally, I can't wait! "24" is one of the best shows on television! I'll be buying the 2nd Season on DVD tomorrow morning! Yay!
     
  14. WinterMute Moderator emeritus

    WinterMute

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #16
    Thats serious product placement, I wonder if they are still following the Good guys with Macs, Bad guys with PCs ethic that seemed to work in the first two shows?
     
  15. Juventuz macrumors 6502a

    Juventuz

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    Binghamton
    #17
    Well this just goes to prove the theory that all the good guys on 24 use Macs while all the bad guys use PC's. Check it out, the past two seasons confirm this.
     
  16. Macmaniac macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    #18
    Spike TV also uses macs, they have a 17in PB in their ads for thier network. I want all his macs:)
     
  17. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #19
    I'd really like to know what the #'s are for product placement. Apple seems to get plugs in a ton of tv shows & movies. :)
     
  18. supercres macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #20
    Remember the commercials when Independence Day was still in theatres? "The Power to Save the World"?

    (Of course... I wasn't a Mac person at that point, so I don't really recall... :rolleyes: )
     
  19. Independence macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Location:
    United States
    #21
    i still find it strange how a powerbook could disrupt the alien network. :rolleyes: ;)
     
  20. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #22
    haha a well Placed and tuned airport could at one time destroy France's Army Network.

    :p
     
  21. jzieske macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Location:
    Bloomington, MN
    #23
    Come on even a Microsoft product could destroy France's Army Network.
     
  22. Stelliform macrumors 68000

    Stelliform

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    #24
    As a PC person back then, I was saying, "Damn, Apple even includes Alien in their protocols."

    Now as A Mac person I say, "You know Apple makes some good stuff when invading aliens use Airport and Appletalk on their network." :D
     
  23. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #25
    No, I wasn't kidding.

    Airport was *at one time* banned.

    You could (theoretically) destroy their connection by putting the right settings on, but this is no longer the case.
     

Share This Page