G5 memory questions

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by masterjedi73, Sep 17, 2005.

  1. masterjedi73 macrumors 6502

    masterjedi73

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #1
    hey there -

    i want to add memory to my power mac g5 tower. (dual 1.8) but I don't know which kind to get....do i have to add it in pairs? how do i tell?

    thanks
     
  2. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #2
    Dual channel memory -- requires pairs of DIMMs that meet the minimum spec.

    Machine looks at both DIMMs as one big DIMM.
     
  3. masterjedi73 thread starter macrumors 6502

    masterjedi73

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #3
    So is that definitely what i have? it says on some of the memory sites that somes G5s have four dimm slots and others 8. I'm pretty sure mine has 8, but want to verify.
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    Easy enough to look in the G5 and count the sockets. It depends on the age of your machine.

    PC RAM is not necessarily compatible -- Look for RAM from a reputable vendor who tests and guarantees comptibility with your model Mac, offers a lifetime warranty and a no-cost return if it doesn't work.

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  5. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #5
    I got some Mushkin off of NewEgg for my PMG5. Works great.
     
  6. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #6
    As I said before...

    PowerMac G5 = DIMMs in PAIRS

    4 DIMM or 8 DIMMs do not matter, all PowerMac G5s use memory in pairs -- due to dual channel memory.

    Single channel is 1 DIMM installed at a time, the PowerMac G5 is NOT one of these machines. Therefore install 2 at a time.
     
  7. masterjedi73 thread starter macrumors 6502

    masterjedi73

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #7
    OK. thanks. I was at the apple store today and i told the salesperson that i wanted 1 gig of ram. he offered me a 1 gb stick, or two 512s. That's why i was confused. I told him that i thought they needed to be in pairs, and he said no.

    thanks.
     
  8. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #8
    Like car salesman, don't trust them with all their answers -- they could have been salesman at the Gap last week.

    The iMac G5 is either/or.

    If this keeps happening (seems you're not the only one) -- all the more reason to avoid Apple like the plague for memory upgrades, besides the insane cost.

    Basically the Apple PowerMac G5 Developer Note -- RAM Expansion is much more trustworthy than a salesdrone.
     
  9. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #9
    Your dual 1.8 GHz machine only has a total of 4 DIMM slots.

    It can hold a total of 4 GB RAM with 2 matched pairs
    of 1 GB DIMMS

    You currently have 2 of your total 4 DIMM slots occupied with the stock RAM.

    If you go to Crucial you need to select your model
    and the appropriate offerings will be displayed.

    Same thing with OWC ( www.macsales.com.)
    They sell factory original Apple/Samsung RAM

    If you want to add a total 1 GB you need to purchase
    a pair of 512 sticks.

    RAM has gotten so affordable, you might want to hold off till you can afford a pair of 1 GB sticks
    and ramp that puppy up another 2GB.
     

Share This Page