G5 Memory Upgrade (another)

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by bzollinger, Feb 24, 2009.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    bzollinger

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    #1
    I've searched and read every thread I can find pertaining to memory upgrades for the G5. But still am wondering about peoples opinions with a specific purchase.

    Can anyone offer any insight as to whether this RAM will work in my Dual 2.0Ghz G5 (4 DIMM slots). It meets all of the specs that I'm aware of and one guy has had success using it in an iMac. The only thing I can't confirm is that it's JEDEC certified. After the rebate the price is right.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145575

    Model
    Brand CORSAIR
    Series XMS
    Model TWINX2048-3200C2PT
    Type 184-Pin DDR SDRAM
    Tech Spec
    Capacity 2GB (2 x 1GB)
    Speed DDR 400 (PC 3200)
    Cas Latency 2
    Timing 2-3-3-6
    Voltage 2.75V
    ECC No
    Buffered/Registered Unbuffered
    Heat Spreader Yes
    Features Platinum Heat Spreader
    Recommend Use High Performance or Gaming Memory
    Manufacturer Warranty
    Parts Lifetime
    Labor Lifetime
     
  2. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bzollinger

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    #2
    Has anyone got any experience with putting XMS memory in a G5? Help me out if you do. DDR memory isn't cheap these days, but it is a lot cheaper than buying a new Mac Pro!

    thanks,
    BZ
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #3
    I found that for the G5 that takes DDR memory, you really have to check with the manufacturer to see if it is Mac compatible.

    I spent 160 bucks on four gigs for this pleasure.

    I know there are exceptions, someone on MR said Fry's memory worked for him, but just do your homework before you buy.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bzollinger

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    #4
    Thanks for the input. I've been wrestling with the idea of paying a premium for memory, but I think that is what it's going to take. I've already "experienced" one purchase.

    I guess that's what I get for waiting for a certain memory to get so old that it's out of production. :rolleyes::mad:
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #5
    I've always grabbed the cheapest I can find off Amazon and so far not had a problem. I think I have a mixture of Corsair, Samsung, Infineon in there!

    I do have a question: does the fact that it's recognised in System Profiler / "About this Mac" actually mean its accessible to applications? I.e. can the system see it but not use it in some cases?
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #6
    I found a seller on eBay. You may be able to talk them down a bit.

    You will notice a big improvement with the memory.
     
  7. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #7
    Yeah I bought Crucial 1gb modules off Frys.com at the end of last year because they were having a huge rebate on them. Think they were about $16 each after the rebates.

    They worked great in my dual 1.8 G5.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bzollinger

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    #8
    So when you say you're just buying whatever is cheapest are you still talking in context of buying "Mac compatible" RAM?

    Or are you just buying whatever RAM you can find that matches the specs of Mac ram?

    thanks,
    BZ
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bzollinger

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    #9
    Could you tell me the name or store name of the seller?

    thanks,
    BZ
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bzollinger

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    #10
    I would check the system monitor and select memory to see what it sees there. That way you can see what is available, being used, inactive, etc....
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Location:
    Waukesha WI
    #11
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #12
    The last few times the memory I bought didn't mention Macs at all, the German Amazon site is usually pretty sparse with information. I paid 60-odd Euros for the last lot (2x1GB Infineon), which is cheap by standards over here - maybe they were clearing Infineon stock, cos didn't they go bust, or their RAM making arm at least?
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bzollinger

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    #13
    This is what I ended up doing. It was a little painful because NewEgg.com charges us AK people loads for shipping. Shipping was almost $20! But I'll be in better shape when it's all said and done. Thanks for the input.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bzollinger

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    #14
    I was thinking this would work but I didn't want to have to return another RAM order, so I just took the plunge. But it's good to know that typically as long as the memory matches the specs it should work.

    Maybe someone could chime in that used "spec'd" memory that didn't work?

    BZ
     

Share This Page