G5 or G4 Dual 1.42

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Hackcomic.com, Dec 6, 2003.

1. Hackcomic.com macrumors regular

I was all set to upgrade my g3 350 to a G4 1.25 dual. Then I figured why not go for the 1.42 dual and get one on Ebay. Now I see the prices of the g5 single have come down to $1800 for the 1.6 and about $2,000 for the 1.8 single..

I guess my question is: What do I get? Is the 1.42 g4 faster than the single g5s? Do I really need to go dual g5 or will single 1.8 work for me.

Here is what I use my computer for:
    Word, AOL, internet, film editing, and storing all my digital film files (So I will need large hard drives) so I can then make DVDs of my films to hand out at meetings. (I am a television writer and indy film director). I will also use this for my web site, but I don't do much design- I really just update it.

With the editing: I have mostly been using imovie- and then I output that onto DV- bring it to my real editor who then adds all the bells and whistles. I have not been using Final Cut myself all that much- but I guess its time to learn. In terms of photo shop- I dont use it at all. I then take the movie my editor fixed- bring it back into my computer through DV firewire and then output it to Quicktime (on my g3 this can take hours!)

I guess the real question is- how much faster or slower is the 1.8 g5 compared to the 1.42 dual? (I have seen benchmarks on the 1.6 but not the 1.8) And then secondly- if I am going for 1.8 single- do I just suck it up and spend the extra $500 or so on the 1.8 dual g5? OR do I even need this since I am not doing all the photoshop type stuff and don't anticipate doing it.

Thanks for your time.

2. jrv3034 macrumors 6502a