G5 quad 560ti rom

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by rabidz7, Dec 25, 2012.

  1. rabidz7
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

  2. parrafin
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    #2
    560 Ti won't work with G5s as Apple used a different firmware back in the PowerPC days. Best GPU available for G5s is a 512 MB 7800GTX.

    You can get 560s to work with early Mac Pros (1,1 and 2,1) so that would be an option, otherwise purchase a 7800 GTX.
     
  3. rabidz7
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    #3
    There has to be an open firmware rom witten and ready for flashing.
     
  4. G-Force
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
  5. Zotaccian, Dec 25, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2012

    Zotaccian
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Zotaccian

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #5
    If there was, I think you would find it here:

    http://themacelite.wikidot.com/wikidownloads2

    but the 560Ti is too new card, last PPC machine was released in 2005, Apple stopped selling it in 2006. GeForce 500 series debuted in 2010. There is now stock rom for any of GeForce 500 and no driver support.
     
  6. rabidz7
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

  7. prvt.donut
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    prvt.donut

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #7
    Nope, sorry. If it could have been done, it would have been done.
     
  8. rabidz7
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    #8
    Are there any 7990 roms available for flashing?
     
  9. MisterKeeks
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #9
    I don't believe so. Have you been checking on Google? This isn't the first thread you have started regarding ROMS. The 7800 uses a completely different ROM from the 7900.
     
  10. parrafin
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    #10
    Would not boot, 560 Ti isn't an Open firmware card.

    ----------

    No. Even though they're based on the same board layout, a 7900 isn't compatible with G5, only Mac Pro.

    As I say, you're high end options are (in order)
    -7800GTX 512mb
    -Quadro FX4500
    -7800GTX 256mb
    -X1950
    -X1900 GT

    All these cards are available as winPC versions and can be flashed. A 560 TI, 7900 or 7990 cannot be used with a G5.
     
  11. Jethryn Freyman
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #11
    As far as G5 towers go, the best you can get, in no particular order, are the AGP Gainward Bliss GeForce 7800 512MB (half that memory usable) and a top-level binned flash ATI Radeon Fire GL X3 (my OpenMark score is a little over 22K), and the Radeon X1900 for PCIe models.
     
  12. parrafin
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    #12
    You are wrong. He has a G5 Quad therefore the AGP won't work. Also, as I've just said which the fastest cards are, please explain to me how the x1900 is faster than any of these cards.
     
  13. MisterKeeks
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #13
    For the OP: I've had difficulties tracking down the ROM, might want to find it before purchasing.
     
  14. MisterKeeks
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #14
    Japamac has posted an excellent guide about cards for your G5 here.

    If it isn't on the list, it won't be!
     
  15. parrafin
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    #15
    I have the ROM, or the card can be purchased pre-flashed off eBay, etc.
     

Share This Page