G5 server help!!!

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by kittenmilk, Aug 9, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    #1
    I saved a g5 server and 7tb RAID from the garbage and it was password protected. It only has one hard drive bay (in the server) and no optical drive. i have two xserve install disks (saved from an identical fate) but no way to get them to the server. at this point i have reformatted the hard drive (journaled) so it is free of any data. am i screwed without an external optical drive.
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #2
    What you can do is restore an image of each disk to two different partitions on a firewire hard drive and boot off that. If you don't have a FW HDD, it would be much cheaper to get a new optical drive (you can get them for $18).
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    #3
    thanks adriank i think i'll go that route. how would i boot from an external optical drive? is there a command upon startup, and will the erased hard drive cause any interference with the fresh install. right now when i boot up i only get a file icon with a question mark.
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #4
    External should be FireWire, though people have reported success with USB optical drives. I'd personally go with FW since you know it will work. Earlier I misunderstood and thought this was a regular G5 you were using as a server, my apologies. External drives will cost a lot more than internals.

    To boot: holding C during boot is for booting from an internal optical drive, I guess it would be the same for externals(?). Either that or you'd need to hold alt/option during boot, then select the Mac OS X disk.

    I honestly don't jack about RAID or how OS X handles it :p Not all G5 Xserves have hardware RAID, so chances are you can go to disk utility from utilities option in the menu bar (when you boot the OS X disc) and configure RAID however you want.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    #5
    Thanks, picked up a firewire optical drive and booted holding option O and selected the optical. worked like a charm. thanks again, regards.
     

Share This Page