G5 speed increase?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by alexf, Aug 18, 2004.

1. alexf macrumors 6502a

alexf

Hi everyone,

I'm hoping to get some G5 buying advice...

I work as a Web / graphic designer and bought a single processor G5 1.6 GHz a few months ago. I was blown away by the speed increase over the 450 MHz G4 I had been using, and am still impressed by how speedy and responsive the computer is.

However, I just sold my older computer and, with this money, am now considering upgrading from the single 1.6 to a new dual 1.8 (or possible 2.0) refurbished.

The primary applications that I use are Photoshop, Illustrator, GoLive, Flash, InDesign, and occasionally Virtual PC and iMovie.

My question is: given the applications that I use (creating primarily small graphics files for the Web) would I really notice a significant speed increase from the single 1.6 to a dual 1.8 or 2.0 machine?

Like I said, I am already satisfied with the speed of the 1.6, but for me time is money and thus it can never be too fast... Yet I'm just not sure if the work I do merits a dual processor machine.

Any advice would be much appreciated! :)

2. vraxtus macrumors 65816

vraxtus

For apps like Photoshop and even iMovie that are MP aware (or can be patched as such), yes you'll see a HUGE boost in performance. However, I'm not sure if VPC is yet G5 compatible? I can't remember so someone let me know if I'm wrong.

3. jsw Moderator emeritus

jsw