g5 stuck at apple logo

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by qwea44, Jun 29, 2011.

  1. qwea44
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    #1
    hi all,

    i have bought a new g5, with firmware 10.4.11 on it
    so i wanted to upgrade this PPC to leopard, so what i have did was,
    copy all the stuff from the leopard install cd and putted it on my hdd (I know it was stupid)
    so after that i rebooted my g5 and it is stuck on the apple logo
    i only have a pc with windows 7 and ubuntu, and i have a firewire, so maybe that could help it, please help me, and i´m new at forums.


    cheers
     
  2. simsaladimbamba
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
  3. qwea44
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    #3
    hey, thanks for your reply :D

    well how can i boot then from a dvd?
    and can i use my friends mac for a external hdd via firewire?

    thx
     
  4. simsaladimbamba
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    By inserting the DVD, starting the Mac and holding down the "C" key or the OPTION/Alt key.

    For what again?
     
  5. qwea44
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    #5
    i've just tried it, but nothing comes op or something when i hold the c or option/alt key, btw i don't have a official mac keyboard, is that a problem?

    thx
     
  6. cocacolakid
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    cocacolakid

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #6

    Are you using a wireless keyboard? Use a USB keyboard. Hold down the C or Option/Alt key after the boot chime and keep holding it until the grey screen shows up offering you the choice of booting from the hard drive or DVD.
     
  7. simsaladimbamba
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #7
    No.

    What version of Leopard is it? Is the DVD grey or coloured?
     
  8. qwea44
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    #8
    @cocacolakid

    I'm using a usb keyboard and still there's nothing
    but i had problems with the keyboard already before the problem
    so is it the keyboard or not?

    thx

    @simsaladimbamba

    i'ts the original leopard, and it's grey

    thx
     
  9. simsaladimbamba
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #9
    Since Leopard has been released in 2007 and Power Macs were last sold in 2005/6 from Apple, you got a Leopard version that is machine specific and will not work with a PPC Mac or any other Mac, unless the exact model it came with.
    You NEED to get a RETAIL version of Leopard if you want to run Leopard.
    Check eBay or CL, but know, that Leopard still goes for around 100 USD.
     
  10. qwea44
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    #10
    ahaa, ok thanks for the information, but is'nt there another way to get the retail like copying it or download it free?
     
  11. simsaladimbamba
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #11
    No and maybe, but that we can't discuss.
     
  12. qwea44
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    #12
    oh well i'm sorry i didn't know that i'm new to forums

    but then i have no choice; I'm going to order a retail now on ebay :D

    thanx for all the help and all the information, i will post a thread when i have the retail and still having problems

    cheers
     
  13. qwea44
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

Share This Page