G5 to a HDMI 1080p Widescreen

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by nickatnoon, Dec 11, 2007.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    #1
    HI all, I am new here. DOES ANYONE HERE, HAVE A POWERMAC G5, THAT HAS BEEN CONNECTED TO A NEWER HDMI 1080p WIDESCREEN HDTV?????????:confused: Do i have to upgrade my video card? Your help would be appreciated. Thank you. :)
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #2
    A DVI-to-HDMI cable is all you need, any Radeon 9600 or 9800 should be capable of 1920x1080. And GeForces 6800 too :apple:
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    statikcat

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #3
    Yep 1080p tv is going to be 1920x1080. This cake for any modern graphics card (for standard display). I have my Mac Pro connected to my 42" 1080p via DVI to HDMI cable.. it works just like a second monitor.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    Local
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #5
    because he's new!

    (well i am too.. but i don't shout)
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    Local
    #6
    Sorry, what's that? I can't quite hear you! :^)
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    #7
    Thanx ale500 and others. :) So I will have to upgrade my video card, it looks like. The G5 came with the standard card. I want to configure the video outputs so I can use my widescreen TV as a second monitor for certain Youtube videos etc. Does anyone know if the new Mac Pros are using HDMI yet? Thanx again.....:)
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #8
    The MacPros have standard DVI connector in their video cards, any of them. You still need a cable, or DVI-HDMI adaptor, and then a cable.

    The GMA 950 in my MB can handle an external 1920x1200 panel. Any video card in your G5 can also do that... which one do you have ? Mac versions of video cards are hard to come by (cheap) and expensive...

    Get a cable and test. If it does not work... well was only 20 €, that you will need anyways. :apple:
     
  9. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #9
    Only HDMI product that Apple makes is the AppleTV.
     
  10. jnc
    macrumors 68020

    jnc

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Location:
    Nunya, Business TX
    #10
    Does your G5 have a DVI output? If so, all you need is any DVI-HDMI cable, I picked one up from Belkin for about £19 for my Mac Mini. It should output a resolution of 1920 x 1080 if your HDTV is 1080p, and your graphics card can handle that resolution.
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    #11
    it's not a mystery that he's probably got the 5200 "Ultra" in his G5. That's what most G5s shipped with unless they were specifically BTO updated.

    it will do 1920x1080, but it won't be very impressive.
     
  12. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #12
    Oh, and you won't get sound from your TV either (from DVI-HDMI converter).
     
  13. macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #13
    PowerMac G5 has optical audio out. Connect it directly to your surround sound receiver (if it has optical).
     
  14. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    #14
    Thanx Consutant,
    Yeah, I had my sound running thru my Yamaha 7.1 A/V Receiver, (it was awesome) I had a power spike last month and what a nightmare!:eek: I have a surge protector, but I found out it wasn't grounded correctly...THE HARD WAY! My receiver is in the shop getting repaired, now. I could not get a picture thru my existing video card DVI output, but a lousy picture thru the VGA output. My Samsung has a PC input(VGA) I tried to find my info about my G5,(which video card it has) but unsuccessful. I noticed the top video cards are $800.00!!! I want a HD picture, but I do not want to put out that kinda cash! I am not a gamer, but I want a decent video card for movies, etc. Any suggestions for around $300.00-$400.00??? I have the Apple TV unit, which connects thru my HDMI switcher, but I want to use my widescreen for my G5 to get the SIZE on all my other applications. Thanx again, guys.....:)
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #15
    Maybe the monitor, well TV is not detected... Have a look at the thread
    "Flashing a PC Radeon 9800 Pro", it may help.


    the command lspci in the console should give view a list of all devices, even AGP.
    If not use system profiler to find out which card you have.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    #16
    Thanx ale500! This is the info on my video card, and the resolution it produces: 1024 x 640 @ 60 Hz The last line says :"no display connected" I will try again.....:confused:
    NVIDIA GeForce 6600LE:

    Chipset Model: GeForce 6600LE
    Type: Display
    Bus: PCI
    Slot: SLOT-1
    VRAM (Total): 128 MB
    Vendor: nVIDIA (0x10de)
    Device ID: 0x0142
    Revision ID: 0x00a4
    ROM Revision: 2149
    Displays:
    PW191:
    Resolution: 1024 x 640 @ 60 Hz
    Depth: 32-bit Color
    Core Image: Supported
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Quartz Extreme: Supported
    Display:
    Status: No display connected
     
  17. macrumors 68040

    trainguy77

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #17
    Do you have a display connected to both ports? Also for resolution you can change that in system preferences. That is just what its currently set too. And just to clarify. HDMI and DVI are the same signal just HDMI cables can take sound as well. Which is why a simple converter cable is all that is required.
     

Share This Page