G5 w/ Triple Monitors

Discussion in 'Picture Gallery' started by shred444, Aug 31, 2005.

  1. shred444 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    #1
    heres my new setup. Im waiting on my fourth monitor...should be here in 2 weeks.

    more pics upon request....
     

    Attached Files:

  2. w_parietti22 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    :eek: More pics please! That is awesome! nice setup! what do you do with all that space???

    PS- Nice Think Different poster. :D
    edit- oops... I saw a Think Different poster made with the poster of the right and I got confused. :eek:
     
  3. Platform macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
  4. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #4
    LOL. I would have just gotten one 30" Cinema Display.
     
  5. Over Achiever macrumors 68000

    Over Achiever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
    #5
    They look like Samsung displays ...

    Where would the fourth LCD go? I don't see space remaining on that desk :confused:
     
  6. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #6
    nice dude .. i wonder what he was DL'in off bittorrent ?:)
     
  7. shred444 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    #7
    hahaha good call. i am downloading an independent film called Old Boy. Made in japan, some serious special effects.

    They are samsungs.

    I use the space for video editing mostly. After effects and final cut at the same time. Lots of 3d work too...working on a hummer h2...
     

    Attached Files:

    • h2f.jpg
      h2f.jpg
      File size:
      155.7 KB
      Views:
      179
    • h2d.jpg
      h2d.jpg
      File size:
      120.6 KB
      Views:
      103
  8. stonyc macrumors 65816

    stonyc

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
    #8
    Gawd!!! :eek:

    Wish I had the cash and... permission... to do the same. :)
     
  9. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #10
    What displays are you using? And what is their resolution?

    I'd like to setup 3x 2005FPW (and I may, if I can find them below $400 again), but I'd have to buy a new deskto make room for them. :)
     
  10. monkeydo_jb macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Location:
    Columbia, MO
    #11
    Good flick. What were the serious special effects, though?

    Yeah, where are you going to put a fourth monitor? Guess you could get a mount and put
    two on top of the other two.
     
  11. greatdevourer macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    #12
    Call me a n00b, but where do the 3rd and 4th monitors plug in? :confused:
     
  12. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #13
    Most setups w/ more than two displays use more than one video card. There are some cards that support up to four displays, but they tend to be pretty expensive.
     
  13. robotrenegade macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Location:
    Greenville,SC
    #14
    I agree...sell those and get two 30inch.
     
  14. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #15
    And several hundred dollars for graphics cards to drive them?

    No thanks.
     
  15. neut macrumors 68000

    neut

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Location:
    here (for now)
    #16
    4 of those are still less than half the price of the 30" alone ... not including a video card for it. :rolleyes:

    Nice setup shred. :)


    peace | neut
     
  16. shred444 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    #17
    exactly. a 30 inch mac cinema display is what,...over 2000? i paid average of 300 for each one of those. way better.

    when i get the fourth, ill probably do two on the top, two on the bottom. Its perfect setup for 3d modeling, one monitor for each view (top, right, front, perspective)
     
  17. neut macrumors 68000

    neut

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Location:
    here (for now)
    #18
    It's actually $3000 ... :eek: isn't the cheapest Ati card that can run those like $500? :rolleyes: It's a nice display, but we're not all rich or in mega-debt. :p

    Cool, I've always wanted a side-by-side AND an over-and-under setup. :) Great for all kinds of things ... hell, you could run some of those commercial flight simulators at that point. :D

    Have fun! My credit card can't handle another monitor right now. ;)


    peace | neut
     
  18. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #19
    A 30" Cinema Display would equal to 6 of those them there displays in surface area.
     
  19. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #20
    And a single massive display isn't necessarily as efficient (nor is it as flexible) as a collection of smaller displays.
     
  20. shred444 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    #21
    excuse me? how does that work? your saying that 6x 19'' monitors equals one 30'' monitor?
     
  21. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #22
    Those look like 17" monitors. Unless, of course, that laptop on the top right of the pic has a 19" screen.

    Judging by the size of the 3 monitors in relation to the keyboard, I'd say they are 17" monitors.

    NM. I'm probably wrong.
     
  22. neut macrumors 68000

    neut

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Location:
    here (for now)
    #23
    6 monitors running @ 1280 by 1024 (with 3 on top 3 on bottom) would be 3840 x 3072 ... A 30" is 2560 x 1600.


    peace | neut
     
  23. Platform macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #24
    What is the resolution...........3x1280x1024 = 3.9 million pixles.........the 30" is 2560x1600 = 4 million pixles :p Well that is the same.........but 6 is a lot more ;)
     
  24. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #25
    Ummm... no.

    3 on top and 3 on bottom on has 2 rows, but you're multiplying both numbers by 3. :p
     

Share This Page