Gah. I need a job.

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by iShane, Jul 8, 2006.

1. iShane macrumors 6502a

Hi guys,

I need some good job ideas. I am only 14 and I am afraid that might worry some people. I would like to do something with computers but I'm not a pro. Maybe I could get people started or something. I don't know but I am looking for any ideas.

Thanks in advance!

2. CompUser Guest

Lawn Mowing? Web & Brochure Design?

You can always volunteer doing something computer related such as brochures and powerpoints at your Town Hall (many of the old farts working there probably don't know know MS Office inside and out). Keep track of your volunteer hours because it helps you get college scholarships and looks good on your college resume. Doing that type of work may also turn into a paying job eventually.

3. iShane thread starter macrumors 6502a

I think everyone around here gets their lawn mowed by a landscaper :rolleyes:.

Also I just got done with a community service project.

Oh and I'll check into web design. I just took a class for it.

4. gallagb macrumors 6502

gallagb

or the local grocery store
    or other service type store

flower shop...etc

depending on the state laws
    being only 14= u may have to get a special permit to work....

another idea- would be work 'under the table' for friends parents
    making copies @ an office, doing a mailing for someone, cleaning out a garage...etc

5. killr_b macrumors 6502a

killr_b

When I was thirteen I got a job taping down cables on sets of film shoots. It was good enough pay, but what was important was I learned all the other aspects of production. When I was fifteen I got to run B-cam on some commercials and at some sporting events. When I was seventeen I got to A-cam. After that I proceeded to learn digital editing and compositing.