Galaxy Nexus SIM in IPhone 5

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by JDilla, Nov 15, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #1
    Ok guys - I am new here and I have a rather complicated fact pattern so any help would be really appreciated.

    I'm currently on my company's Verizon corporate account and use a Samsung Galaxy Nexus. It's a requirement that we have an Android phone to use some software but I'd like to have an iPhone as well. So my mom has an upgrade she doesnt want so I was going to use her upgrade to get the phone and then cut my Galaxy Nexus micro SIM to a Nano SIM size to pop in the iphone (then use an adapter to go back and forth from the nexus to the iphone).

    I have a few questions though:

    1. If I upgrade my mom's line through the Apple store, do I need to activate the phone on her line when I get it to avoid her having to pay full price for the phone? OR are the T&C's signed when I buy the phone and therefore her contract is already extended? I think the answer is that the T&C's are signed when she buys the phone through the Apple website so she wouldnt need to activate it to extend her contract - but confirmation of this would be great.

    2. If I don't activate the phone on her line, can I just take the Nano SIM that came with the iphone 5 out and pop my cut down SIM into the phone and have it work or would I need to do some activation after I put my SIM in? This step is important because since the account is controlled by my company, I wouldnt have any information to be able to activate the phone as the account is not in my name.

    At the end of the day, it would be great to get the subsidized iphone, pop my sim in and just have it work. It would be great to hear from anyone who has done this. It seems that most of the threads on this are for people switching lines or taking upgrades so they can just activate the phone and sim on their lines - I can't do that so my situation is a little different.

    Thanks for reading!
     
  2. macrumors demi-god

    iPhone1

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #2
    I use my iPhone 5 nano SIM in my Galaxy S3 all the time. Buy a nano to micro sim adapter and pop it in. If your Galaxy isn't activated already, there are ways to bypass that. Rooting helps too.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #3
    Have to cut the sim down to Nano size and then buy an adapter to go back to the nexus.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #4
    Yeah that sounds like what I will have to do which is no problem. Do you know if any activation is required or if I can just put my cut SIM into the iphone when I get it and it will work? Thanks!
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    LSUtigers03

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    #5
    As long as you have an activated working sim all you should have to do is put it in the phone. The only issue I've had was with my One X. It wouldn't get data but once I found the correct apn everything worked perfectly.
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    Jordan921

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #6
    Shouldn't have any activation problems at all.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #7
    OK guys thanks for all the help so far

    So I got the off contract iPhone 5, I cut my Verizon micro Sim to nano Sim size and put it in the phone. I can now receive and make calls but I can't send texts to non iPhone owners or access voicemail. Also under settings it doesn't recognize Verizon as my carrier and doesn't show my phone number. At the top left of the phone it says LTE next to the reception bars but it should say Verizon LTE.

    Please help!!! What did I do wrong?
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    AutoUnion39

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #8
    Don't you need to activate a CDMA phone by calling VZW? I was under the impression it wasn't like a GSM where you could just swap SIMs when you were bored.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #9
    I thought because the Verizon LTE phones use Sim cards you could swap them around which is why I tried to do this, but was I wrong? Do you still have to tie the imei number of the phone to the Sim for it to connect to the Verizon network?
     

Share This Page