Galaxy S3 Verizon unlocked ?

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by whoknows87, Nov 10, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    whoknows87

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Location:
    S.Florida
    #1
    will an unlocked Galaxy S3 ( Verizon) work with any GSM network and still get LTE? or no such thing

    I thought Verizon phones are all CDMA
     
  2. 3bs
    macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #2
  3. macrumors 68030

    blackhand1001

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    #3
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    whoknows87

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Location:
    S.Florida
    #4
    so it will work?
     
  5. 3bs
    macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #5
    I'm sure you know more than me seeing as I'm not from/in the US :p
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    blackhand1001

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    #6
    On LTE, I have no idea. If the sim is unlocked then it will atleast work on gsm. I have to look up if its unlocked. Almost every verizon lte phone has had an unlocked gsm sim.


    Edit: Just checked, the sim is in fact unlocked. You can use gsm sims in it without issue. I am not sure what the deal with lte is though.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    whoknows87

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Location:
    S.Florida
    #7
    I just passed on a verizon LTE GS3 for 265 bucks MINT
    I tried my sim and it didn't work, the owner said it was unlocked but the phone was reset so maybe the unlock was lost

    I might be lucky if I can get it tomorrow
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Location:
    Montreal
    #8
    I think you're better off asking Verizon directly and making sure.

    I don't think phones "reset" by the owner (Android reset?) looses unlocking. It just sounds highly improbable. Also, look at this link:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_LTE_networks

    Which "gsm" LTE network are you trying to access? Although AT&T has the same frequency as Verizon, it's in a different class (whatever that means). LTE has not been standardized anywhere in the world, and certainly not amongst US carriers. Each carrier has specific hardware associated to their LTE networks (or else the Nexus 4 would have LTE for sure).
     
  9. macrumors 68030

    blackhand1001

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    #9
    The gsm functionality will be enabled in the jellybean update officially. I am pretty sure you can already do it unofficially with root but verizon has said they are officially adding it in the next update. They did the same thing with the razr and the rezound.
     

Share This Page