Gamecube Component Cables

Discussion in 'Games' started by jdechko, Mar 14, 2006.

  1. jdechko macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    #1
    For those of you who are interested (you may have to be in the US) I just ordered a new set of component cables for the Gamecube directly from Nintendo for 29.99 + 5 for S/H. The guy said they had about 400 left in stock right now.

    Call them up at 1-800-255-3700.

    In 3-8 business days I'll be enjoying 480p :D .
     
  2. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #2
    I'll be on 480p later this year :( I hope to hell the Rev supports 480p for Rev games, and fingers crossed supports 480p for older Cube games. Monitor output must mean some form of progressive scan.
     
  3. Haoshiro macrumors 68000

    Haoshiro

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Location:
    USA, KS
    #3
    Don't forget they removed the digital-out on newer GameCube models so be sure your GCN has one or those cables will do you no good! :D

    I ordered mine awhile back same time I got my TV that could actually support them.

    Also, hold the B button then turn the system on; that will cause it to ask if you want to run in Progressive mode!

    ~ Hao
     
  4. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #4
    Didn't Nintendo offer to swap anyone who had the new, digital outputless GC with a refurbed one that DID have the dig. connector? I can't remember.

    As much as I'd like to get a set of these, $35 is just to much for me to spend on them when the Rev is within a year of release and I STILL don't have a DS. :p
     
  5. jdechko thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    #5
    Yeah, though it may be a remanufactured GC. Anyway, I got one of the original GC's that have the Digital out. I also have an HDTV and several Progressive compatible games. So spending the $35 on the cables is worth it for me (and $35 is way better than spending 85 on eBay).
     
  6. crachoar macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Location:
    Ohio
    #6
    Thank the Christ child...


    Thanks a lot man. Just ordered mine.
     
  7. kballard macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    #7
    Oh man, thanks! I'll have to call tomorrow, but I've been meaning to track one of these cables down for a while now.
     
  8. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    More than likely will, but remember NO PAL games support 480p. That option was taken out of them..

    Though if like me, you import nearly all your games it shouldnt be a problem.
     
  9. Sol macrumors 68000

    Sol

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    I wonder why not. PAL GameCube also has no support for S-Video which is very odd. Doesn't Nintendo want it's GameCubes to look their best in PAL territories?
     
  10. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #10
    Nintendo doesnt give a flying rat's ass about Europe generally.
    Even back in the day of Sega Megadrive (genesis) & SNES. The sega machine was a bigger seller and I think the big N have held it against us ever since :)

    That's why with the cube I decided to import everything. Thank god for freeloader - but what's the betting freeloader will be scuppered on the REV? :rolleyes:
     
  11. srobert macrumors 68020

    srobert

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    #11
    By the way. F-Zero looks gorgeous in 480p and Wide-screen. No slowdowns or skips. I think it's the best game to Showoff the difference those component cables can do.
     
  12. jdechko thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    #12
    I'm really looking forward to Metroid Prime :cool:
     
  13. i.Feature macrumors 6502

    i.Feature

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #13
    Oh ya... i forgot does anyone have a list or know where to find a list of the games that support progressive?
     
  14. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #14
    F-Zero is the better looking in 480p
    Metroid looks lovely too & so does WindWaker, some games though don't really benefit at all. MarioPowerTennis for example...
     
  15. srobert macrumors 68020

    srobert

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    #15
    Here is a decent one. (It's also good for XBox and PS2)

    It also list which games can be played in widescreen.

    Unfortunatly, it's not 100% up-to-date.

    http://www.hdtvarcade.com/gamecubelist.htm
     
  16. i.Feature macrumors 6502

    i.Feature

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #16
    Nice! Didn't realize so many could be played widescreen. That makes my day. If you or anyone else here finds anymore list be sure to post.

    On a side note. where in Montreal are ya?
     
  17. srobert macrumors 68020

    srobert

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    #17
    I'll keep an eye open for a more up to date list. That one is missing some recent 480p games such as Chibi Robo.

    Nice to meet a fellow Montrealer. (There's quite a few on MacRumors) I live near the Joliette subway station. Got a real nice view of the olympic stadium from my living room's window. I work downtown near Place Ville Marie.
     
  18. kballard macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    #18
    And now I just ordered it. Awesome!

    Oh, and that customer service representative was the most friendly and helpful of any company I've ever called. Seriously. Ah, Nintendo, how I love thee..
     
  19. i.Feature macrumors 6502

    i.Feature

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #19
    Just placed my order 3-10 days. The women on the phone told me its a very popular item this week and that her manager asked her to report numbers on them at the end of the day. She wouldn't tell me how many are left.

    I'm in the Pointe myself. My view is of the skyline from my backyard.
     
  20. jdechko thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    #20
    congrats to everyone who was able to order them. I was really surprised that they even had them when I called. I guess we just got lucky. :)
     
  21. i.Feature macrumors 6502

    i.Feature

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #21
    Thanks again for sharing the luck!
     
  22. neonart macrumors 65816

    neonart

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Location:
    Near a Mac since 1993.
    #22
    Thank you much for the info.

    I was able to get one ordered today. The rep that helped me said they are only selling one per household. These things must be flying of the shelfs!

    I called a good friend who is a big time gamer and he said: "OH WOW! I gotta get one!"

    I've always been impressed with Prime's graphics on an old TV with analog video. I can't wait to see it in 480p!

    Is there anywhere we can see screenshots of standard and 480p screenshots of Gamecube titles?
     
  23. plinkoman macrumors 65816

    plinkoman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #23
    ordered. :D

    though i don't yet have a tv that can use them, it looks like they're soon going to be hard to come by, and they last thing i want to do is hunt down a used set on ebay for twice the price :cool:
     
  24. jdechko thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    #24
    It's not a problem. Kinda like the Gmail pay-it-forward thread of old.

    I guess you do need a new sig. Heh. :p
     
  25. Haoshiro macrumors 68000

    Haoshiro

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Location:
    USA, KS
    #25
    Oh, thought I'd share this in case someone needed it as well:

    I found the Pelican HD System Selector and it seems to be a *great* deal. It is a component system selector that also works as an Ethernet Hub. You can find it on Amazon.com and Wal-mart has better pictures.

    I'm ordering one soon because my TV only has one Progressive Component Input.
     

Share This Page