GamerRanger

Discussion in 'Games' started by Falleron, Apr 11, 2005.

  1. Falleron macrumors 68000

    Falleron

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi. Quick question about GameRanger. What ports does it need on the outgoing side? I have blocked everything apart from HTTP, HTTPS, FTP and various messenging ports. The problem is that Gameranger cant now log on.

    Any ideas? I have seen lots of pages giving details about ports for the games. However, nothing that states what the actual program uses.

    Cheers
     
  2. crap freakboy macrumors 6502a

    crap freakboy

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    nar in Gainsborough, me duck
    #2
    you tried asking in Gameranger itslef... if you ignore all the "Woot!" 'Noob!!" "lamer!!" comments from most of the prats that go there then there should be a few decent comments from the more 'mature' memebers....good luck
     
  3. Falleron thread starter macrumors 68000

    Falleron

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    I will find their forums. However, their help section FAQ does not really help.
     
  4. a2daj macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    #4

    On the help page, there's a link to Game Hosting. That has a link to the ports:

    http://www.gameranger.com/help/ports/
     
  5. Falleron thread starter macrumors 68000

    Falleron

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Thanks for that. Unfortunatly, I dont even get the program loading. I get it saying "connecting ...." but it never connects.
     
  6. Soulstorm macrumors 68000

    Soulstorm

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
  7. JzzTrump22 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    I would have to agree with that one. Are there any other clients that work better? or have more people?
     
  8. Falleron thread starter macrumors 68000

    Falleron

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    I can get it working again by opening my firewall more. I am just trying to avoid doing this. I have read that Gameranger only needs port 80 open (HTTP). However, it must need more ports open.
     
  9. crap freakboy macrumors 6502a

    crap freakboy

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    nar in Gainsborough, me duck
    #9
    1 question (excuse this if it makes no sense, just got back from Chiswicj after having wya too many berrs)- whyd you need to close sooo many ports...see,s a tad paranoid...oh and GR doesnt suck, its still a great portal for mac gaming
     
  10. crap freakboy macrumors 6502a

    crap freakboy

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    nar in Gainsborough, me duck
    #10
    rereading my last post...it seems "I was rather drunk..."
     
  11. TDM21 macrumors 6502a

    TDM21

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    #11
    Just to get flamed, I wish they would make ASE (The All Seeing Eye) made for mac.
     
  12. crap freakboy macrumors 6502a

    crap freakboy

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    nar in Gainsborough, me duck

Share This Page