Games on MBP Crappy

Discussion in 'Games' started by milner007, Mar 12, 2006.

  1. milner007 macrumors newbie

    milner007

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    I play UT2004 and Doom3 on my new MacBook Pro and i its glichy
    and jumps around. Is this normal because of the new CPU or is there something wrong with my MBP
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    It's because those apps haven't been channelled over to Universal Binaries so they're effectively being emulated rather than run natively. :(

    In other words, it's normal. Hopefully there'll be Universal Binary versions (capable of running natively on the Intel-based Macs) soon. :)
     
  3. jsfpa macrumors regular

    jsfpa

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    #3
    There is now a universal upgrade available for Doom3.
     
  4. GFLPraxis macrumors 604

    GFLPraxis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #4
    Because those games are written for the PowerPC Macs, they wouldn't run on the new processor, except that Apple has a new program called Rosetta that runs in the background and emulates the PowerPC processor. But it runs much slower.

    If you download the universal binary upgrade for Doom 3, it will run at full speed on the Intel Mac.
     
  5. milner007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    milner007

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
  6. tribe3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Vienna, VA - USA
    #6
    I play Warbirds (not as much as I would like...) and my 2Gig MBP with 256 Vram does worse than my ex 1.67G 15" with 128Vram
     
  7. Converted2Truth macrumors 6502a

    Converted2Truth

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Location:
    Hell@HighAltitude
    #7
    The Universal Binaries for both these games (doom3, UT2004) along with a few others have been released over the past weeks.

    Please come back and cry about performance once your running the UB versions and have complaints. I am most interested in mbp performance...
     
  8. milner007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    milner007

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    Doom3 patch

    I ran doom3 with the patch and it works well
    I put it on the best video perforance
    and it works fine but when i open a door it takes about half a second
    to load that bit of the map and after that its fine.
    Once i get UT2004 working ill tell you but it crashes everytime i install
     

Share This Page