Games that DO run on the macbook

Discussion in 'Games' started by hdsalinas, Nov 27, 2006.

  1. hdsalinas macrumors 6502

    hdsalinas

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    San Pedro Sula, Honduras
    #1
    Hi, as a potential macbook owner, I would like to see a list somewhere of the games that DO run on it.

    I am not going to use it for games much but it would be great to play a few once in a while.

    Will it play games like Age of Empires III, Battlefield 2, need for speed, Flight Sim X?

    If there is a list already, would you be kind to post a link. thanks.

    I feel that a list like this should be made into a stickie.
     
  2. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #2
    I would also like a list like that. as a potential macbook owner. Stickies are good. searching is too hard on me brain.
     
  3. e12a macrumors 68000

    e12a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    #3
    Its a safe bet to say all of those games you mentioned will NOT run on a macbook...or run at a playable fps at least.

    you might have a fighting chance if you set a really low resolution and turn everything down.
     
  4. hdsalinas thread starter macrumors 6502

    hdsalinas

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    San Pedro Sula, Honduras
    #4
    the macbook is just perfect for me but the lack of a true 3D graphic card makes the decision really hard. Upgrading to a MBP would be like upgrading the video card for $700 - is just too much (I know it has other advantages, but I can live without them.)

    There should be an option.
     
  5. KipCoon macrumors regular

    KipCoon

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2000
    Location:
    ATL
    #5
    With max'd out ram, my friend ran WoW on there pretty well, he claims, not sure the resolution setting but it seemed to work. But I have no idea how intense the requirements are for it in comparison to the other games on this thread...
     
  6. mr_matalino macrumors 6502a

    mr_matalino

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #6
    While I agree with you that there should be an upgrade for a video card, that is one of the options that distances the MBP from the MB. I also believe that there should be options that include FW800, backlit keyboard, etc...but then I might as well buy a MBP...
     
  7. Big Boss Man macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #7
    MB is never going to be a gaming machine nor is it going to have options to upgrade to features available on a MBP. There has to be some distinction between the two otherwise they will not be able to sell any MBPs.
     
  8. ichii macrumors 6502

    ichii

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    #8
    I can run Age of Empire III on my Macbook, with everything set on low. It runs fine except when there is heavy action like firing off a lot of cannons. I think more ram could help. I'm running using bootcamp on windows.
     
  9. 66217 Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #9
    Age of Empires III would run fine with more RAM (at least 1gb).

    I've played Sim City 4, The Sims 2, Roller Coaster Tycoon 3, and some other old games I have. I am not into gaming a lot, so I really don't care that much about integrated graphics.

    But Battlefield 2 would definitely NOT run on a MB, not even in the lowest settings.

    And I have read that for playing Flight Simulator X you need a very good PC, but also that you con play it at very low graphic setting and it would run (but it woudl seem to be Fligh Simulator 95:) ) Not even the best MBP would be able tu run this game at high setting. Not sure about the Mac Pro.
     
  10. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #10
  11. pgc6000 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    #11
    Age of Empires III, with proper ram, should run okay
     
  12. blahbrah macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    #12
    Homeworld 2 works so far. Gets a little slow if there's too many ships up close.
     
  13. j26 macrumors 65832

    j26

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    Paddyland
    #13
    I tried Rise of Nations Gold last night and it ran fine on a cd 2.0 MacBook with 1.25g ram output to a 1440x900 external monitor (at that resolution - 16 bit colour I think), even moving large numbers of troops.




    Until the whole thing just disappeared on me in the middle of a game :mad:
    Ill try again some evening soon and see if that happens again.
     
  14. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #15
    I own it. Runs decent, but you have to turn the options down. And by decent I mean it's smooth, without the jerkiness and stuff. This is also on 512 Mb of RAM.
     

Share This Page