Gaming on the 11" 2010 Air. What works?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Orange Furball, Jul 26, 2013.

  1. Orange Furball, Jul 26, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2013

    macrumors 65816

    Orange Furball

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Location:
    Scranton, PA, USA
    #1
    Hello everyone!

    I ordered an Air 2010 11" today and I'm wondering what I can run on this puppy.

    I'm not new to OS X. I have copies of Office, Photoshop, and a Windows XP disk for Boot Camp all from my past Macs (and hackintoshes). So this isn't a question on wether this is possible, it's more of us it practical.

    Games I currently play:

    Arma 2 (DayZ mainly)
    Modern Warfare 2
    Guitar Hero 3 (I'm a GH nerd :p)

    That's pretty much it. I haven't checked requirements on the games, I'm gonna do that now, but if any of you have any experience with these games please let me know! Obviously the Air won't be my only system. I have a moderate gaming setup for my real gaming, this is just more of a bored in study hall at school/on vacation gaming.

    Specs of the little guy:
    C2D 1.6GHz
    NVIDIA 320m w/ 256mb shared RAM
    4GB RAM
    128GB SSD.

    Thanks guys! Tell me what you honestly think! Am I crazy?

    Seems like game-debate.com says I can play both Modern Warfare 2 and Guitar Hero 3, however Arma 2 won't run as the 320m isn't powerful enough :( no mobile DayZ for me...
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #2
    Arma 2 on this machine? I'm afraid you've answered that question yourself. MW2 should run with low settings.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Orange Furball

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Location:
    Scranton, PA, USA
    #3
    Arma 2 runs at 30 Fps (With DayZ Panthera!) with low settings :O I couldn't believe it.

    I didn't try MW2 yet but I'd imagine it'd work lightly better. Ill look at GH3 later.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    #5

    Best news I've heard all day! I've been dying to play arma but never owned anything remotely capable of running it. Getting a 13" 2013 MBA later this week, so can't wait to try it! (even on low settings) :D

    Thanks,
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Orange Furball

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Location:
    Scranton, PA, USA
    #6
    That'll run even better probably! Just fool around with the settings and stuff to get it working well
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    #7
    Here's hoping with the hd5000!

    ..Any chance of testing the arma 3 alpha on low? ;)
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Orange Furball

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Location:
    Scranton, PA, USA
    #8
    Hmmm.... Ill test it tonight!
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    #9
    Oh wait it's okay, I found a video of it running on youtube with one of the older models (hd 4000) So hopefully I'll manage it on all the lowest settings!

    Macbook Air 13"
    i5 1.8ghz
    Intel HD 4000

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lFmXujrXGJ4
     

Share This Page