Garage Band not exporting to iTunes

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Macco, Jan 18, 2004.

  1. Macco macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    #1
    After installing iLife, I committed the horrible sin of opening iTunes before GarageBand, which I believe is responsible for my current problem. Every time I try to export my song to iTunes, the Classic environment starts up and iTunes 2 from OS 9 opens. Does anyone know how I can solve this problem? I tried reinstalling iLife (multiple times) and starting the applications up in the recommended order, to no avail. I'm running 10.3.0, if that makes a difference.
     
  2. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    Worth a try...

    Quit both garageband and itunes. (Maybe throw away itunes 2 if you don't use it anymore?"

    Go to your users folder, then Library;preferences; "com.apple.garageband.plist"

    Throwing away the plist file will RESET garageband. Open up garageband, then try to export again.

    PS...the computer will generate a new plist file automatically.
     
  3. Macco thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    #3
    Re: Worth a try...

    Thanks, but I don't think it worked. Deleting iTunes 2 just resulted in nothing happening after GarageBand created the mixdown. Does anyone else have any ideas?
     
  4. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  5. Robaloo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    #5
    you might be having the same problem i had at first.

    the trick is this: in your garageband preferences, you need to set an itunes playlist as your default playlist for where garageband exports songs. if you don't do this, garageband won't do anything when you try to export.

    i just created a playlist in itunes called "garageband" and set that as my default playlist in the garageband prefs.

    then garageband exported my song into itunes just fine.
     
  6. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    that's quite a good one

    Good idea, I just got off phone with my apple tech and he suggested that same thing.
     
  7. Macco thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    #7
    Thanks guys for all your advice, though none of it seems to be working... :D

    It's not that big a deal though. When I export a song to iTunes, it appears in a folder called "Import" in the music folder. So I can still manually add the song to the iTunes library. Though it would be nice if it did it automatically.
     
  8. Fender2112 macrumors 6502a

    Fender2112

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #8
    Similar problem ...

    I have a similar problem where GB renames the file to "Bounce" and sends it to "iTunes Music" >> "Unknown Artist" >> "Unknown Album"

    The first export I did went fine. It went to the default playlist and saved into my personal folder. Everything after that has been "bounced".

    Must be a bug. :(
     
  9. ChrisH3677 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    #9
    A weird one tho, I have been using GB for 5 or 6 weeks then all of a sudden yesterday for no reason it started doing this. I hadn't installed any updates recently or anything. I haven't tried deleting the preferences yet. Tho I reckon it sounds like it will work.... hopefully. I gotta say, this is the first "weird PC like" problem I've had in 6 months of having a Mac.

    will let you know..
     
  10. ChrisH3677 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    #10
    well, none of that worked for me.

    But I found the following on the Apple GB forum and it did work!!! :D :D :D

    Many thanks to PowerBook John on the Apple forums
     

Share This Page