GarageBand and MIDI support

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jazzman45, Jan 6, 2004.

  1. jazzman45 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Location:
    lawrence, ks
    #1
    Has anyone here found any info on how well GarageBand will support MIDI devices.

    First, I wonder if the Tascam US-428 will work with it. (4 audio inputs, 2x2 MIDI, and a control surface)

    Second, can i hook up a MIDI drum kit and use it to trigger samples...
     
  2. tjwett macrumors 68000

    tjwett

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NYC
    #2
    i wouldn't get too excited. this app is a toy. a cool toy, but still just s toy. it has one MIDI in and out on one channel. and one audio in and out. it also doesn't support wavs or aiff importing so your pretty much stuck with Apple's bundled loops. i believe export is also limited to AAC. look elsewhere for any serious production needs.
     
  3. BjoernG macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    #3
  4. tjwett macrumors 68000

    tjwett

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NYC
    #4
    Yeah, I'm wrong about the export. It's AIFF, which is nice. Re the MIDI: Well I'm basing this on the fact that John Mayer didn't enter any MIDI data or program changes when switching instruments. I had that KB asnd wwas looking for it. It was Steve Changing the synths, simply by choosing a new track.
     
  5. BjoernG macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    #5
    Hmm. Conjecture; I suppose Steve did it b/c it's much more visual that way; many of the intended target audience probably don't know what program changes are :)

    Anyway, I've read in a couple of places that it won't have MIDI out at all, which will be a bummer for many. About importing your own loops, I'm sure someone will hack the format, even if it's not standard.

    I'd be truly interested in a listing of the virtual instruments. At least the organs, guitar and brass sounded excellent, if you can judge that from the bad stream quality. For free, you probably can't ask for true soft synths...
     

Share This Page