Garageband Guitar Cable

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by galvao5, Jan 7, 2005.

  1. galvao5 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    #1
    I bought a Griffin GarageBand Guitar Cable.
    I plug it: one end to the guitar, and the other to my Mac Powerbook G4.
    It did not work.
    Any sugestions??
     
  2. Palad1 macrumors 6502a

    Palad1

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    Check in the sound preferences (apple menu/control panel/sound) that the selected entry is 'line' and not 'microphone', then adjust the volume while playing some chords, and be sure to check the volume knob on your axe :p

    Have Fnu!
     
  3. Stampyhead macrumors 68020

    Stampyhead

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    Yes, Palad1 is right. I had the same problem until I adjusted the sound in settings in System Preferences. The computer just needs to know whether to record from the built in microphone or the Line in port.
     
  4. patseguin macrumors 65816

    patseguin

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    #4
    I just bought my brother a Powerbook G4 and the same Griffin guitar cable. He said that he can record his guitar but not hear what it sounds like. He said he tried clicking on Monitor On but it didn't do anything. Shouldn't he be able to hear himself playing with whatever effects he choses? Does he need to go into sound prefs like one of you mentioned and change it from mic to line in?
     
  5. JonoColesUK macrumors member

    JonoColesUK

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    London UK
    #5
    Hy there

    He sould change it to audio line in. The monitor will work then and not just give horrible feedback

    Jono
     
  6. patseguin macrumors 65816

    patseguin

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    #6
    In system preferences or Garageband preferences?
     
  7. JonoColesUK macrumors member

    JonoColesUK

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    London UK
    #7
    sorry should have been more specific

    *slaps back of hand*

    It should go as follows:

    open system preferences

    click on "sound"

    go to "input"

    select "line in" or "audio line-in port"

    you can then change the input volume of the mic and the output volume in the same window


    hope that helps

    jono
    :)
     
  8. patseguin macrumors 65816

    patseguin

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    #8

    I take it "line in" would be the built-in microphone and "audio line-in port" would be the plug on the side?
     
  9. decksnap macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #9
    Are you running through the amp first? Maybe you're getting low/ no sound because you haven't amped the signal.

    guitar > amp > computer >stereo
     
  10. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #10
    Be careful with signals from the guitar app, some send-and-return channels have too high outputs for your computers audio card.

    Buy a cheap preamp or a guitar multieffect and you'll get much better sound!
     
  11. sleeping giants macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    #11
    help needed

    I have an iBook G4.
    I plug in the Griffin guitar cable into the headphone jack (thats the only jack) and it doesnt work. in system prefrences, the input menu only shows "internal microphone" and the output menu changes from "internal speakers" to "headphones". Does this cord work with ibooks?
     
  12. Stampyhead macrumors 68020

    Stampyhead

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #12
    Unfortunately you can't record through the headphone jack. The Audio In port looks just like the headphone jack but it has a symbol next to it that looks like a circle with a triangle on either side. If your computer does not have an Audio In port you will have to get something like an iMic which allows you to record through your USB port.
     
  13. JonoColesUK macrumors member

    JonoColesUK

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    London UK
    #13
    yup what he said

    ibook doesnt have audio in :(


    imic is a very good product though :)

    Jono
     

Share This Page