garageband with a G3??

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by woverend, Jan 23, 2004.

  1. woverend macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    #1
    I'm just wondering how GB is running on G3's if anyone knows. I've got a Pismo G3 Firewire with 768 MB ram running Panther. I kind of want to start playing with GB. So far I have stuck with my Yamaha MD8 and rack gear, though lately I have been experimenting with mixing down to the computer through an iMic to sound studio (which is not working too well, BTW).

    Basically, is it worth spending $49 on the new ilife just to play with garageband (especially since i'll need to spend some more on an interface) or should I wait until I upgrade to a G5 later this year (my wife promises me...) and get it for free?

    I hear there are some things you can't do in GB on a G3 processor...

    Anyone out there using it on a g3 with any success?
     
  2. CmdrLaForge macrumors 68040

    CmdrLaForge

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Location:
    around the world
    #2
    Hi,

    I am using a 900MHz G3 iBook. I haven't used GB a lot so far but my first experience is quite good in comparison to what I expected.

    You can mix tracks from the implemented loops and create new songs. I haven't tried the software instruments a lot, but it looks like they are working as well.

    Real problems occur when you try any real time rendering. E.g. if you change the master loudness. Not working. Same for any rendering stuff. Meaning you can use the software instruments as they are.

    A workaround is exporting the songs to iTunes - which is not a very nice workaround, because it takes quite a while before you can listen to what you have changed.

    I guess it really depends what you want to do and what you already have and how urgent you need it.

    I didn't needed it at all very urgent but I really wanted to play around with it. So it really depends on what you want need and so on.

    Cheers
     
  3. AdamR01 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    #3
    I have it on my 800MHz iBook. Its incredibly choppy. If I try to use the effects with more than one instrument it says I do not have enough processing power. If i try to record when there is any other track, it says the disk cannot write fast enough. ACID Music is a lot better option in my opinion if you already have a PC. Atleast it ran good, and that was on a Celeron 600...
     
  4. Harald4 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    #4
    In Paris this year, Jobs said: "The transition has been completed".
    Using a b/w G3, to me this means, sell it as long as anybody's willing to pay for it.
    I encounter crashes in various apps every day and I can only restore my vital apps by constantly restarting and using system optimizer twice a week...
     
  5. Harald4 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    #5
    hmmm

    You better never listen to your wife's advice...
     

Share This Page