gatekeeper...when?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by fisherking, Jul 29, 2012.

  1. macrumors 68030

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    brooklyn
    #1
    since installing 10.8, i've downloaded and installed a number of shareware apps (music app, customization apps).

    isn't gatekeeper supposed to show up? or am i missing something...
    haven't seen it yet (i have it to allow mac store and 'identified developers').
    but seems it would show up on some shareware...?
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    eagandale4114

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    #2
    They have probably all been signed. Its why there are dev previews. Istat pro is an example of one that has not been signed.
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    AdeFowler

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #3
    Try installing Sneakpeek Pro... Gatekeeper throws up an alert.
     
  4. fisherking, Jul 29, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2012

    thread starter macrumors 68030

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    brooklyn
    #4
    installed without nearly a hiccup. not a warning, nothing... :confused:

    ----------

    yikes. changed it to apple store ONLY, and am still able to download apps from ANYWHERE, and install... :eek:

    any ideas, anyone?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68030

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    brooklyn
    #5
    anyone? i have yet to see this work. i've got it on 'mac apple store only' but i can download and open anything i try right now... :eek:
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #6
    It works for me... its one of the first things I changed so I could install the software I use.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68030

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    brooklyn
    #7
    i'd prefer if it worked as advertised...and i chose to turn it off.
    just concerned that it does not seem to work at all...
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 68030

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    brooklyn
    #8
    is ANYONE else not seeing gatekeeper work?
    or...anyone with ideas of what might be happening?

    :(
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #9
    I was warned when trying to install an app and just set it in settings to allow all apps.

    It's not called gatekeeper in settings, it's just a setting under security.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    #10
    Actually I noticed the same on my Mountain Lion install (upgrade over lion). I didn't get any alerts about unsigned software. I've not tried it in App Store only mode, I'll do that and see what happens.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio, US
    #11
    Gatekeeper got in the way when I tried to install Soundflower. I turned off Gatekeeper after that. I don't see much point in it anyway.
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Tander

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    #12
    I turned it on to App store downloads only. Yet I was able to download Filezila from their site and launch it.

    So, it appears not to be working here either - not that I actually care. lol.
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #13
    How are you obtaining the applications? GateKeeper only works if the app was downloaded with the quarantine flags correctly set; for example, Safari has set these for a while now so that the Finder can display a warning when you attempt to open a newly downloaded application or file, which GateKeeper basically extends to also check for a valid signature.

    If you're getting applications from some means that isn't setting these flags then it won't work, also, once the flag is checked it is cleared if you allowed it to run. So if you installed something in Lion, then used the same file in Mountain Lion, then it might not be flagged as being quarantined anymore.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 68030

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    brooklyn
    #14
    just downloading thru safari, places like macupdate. even tried downloading older apps from random sites...the places i'd WANT it running (if, LOL, i wanted it running). tander, glad i'm not alone.

    just concerned why it's not working..

    thanx all, will torture apple support with this (and report back).
     
  15. macrumors 68020

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #15
    Did you guys try restarting your computers?
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 68030

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    brooklyn
    #16
    figured it out. onyx! i had to uncheck (in general preferences):

    "remove the alert message on first opening applications downloaded from the internet".

    so now it works, and now, LOL, i can disable it. :D
     
  17. thread starter macrumors 68030

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    brooklyn
    #17
    glad i figured this out. but have shut it off anyway. it was telling me an app was damaged and should be moved to trash...even though that app worked fine all year (and certainly since installing 10.8).

    :eek: :D
     

Share This Page