GC games on Wii

Discussion in 'Games' started by sikkinixx, Dec 9, 2006.

  1. sikkinixx macrumors 68020

    sikkinixx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    Rocketing through the sky!
    #1
    I dont have any GC games anymore so I can't really test out how it works.

    Are there any issues with it? Still supports Progressive (if I can ever get some stupid component cables anyway)? And you need the gc memory card (still got that!) right?

    There are a few games I wanna get again (I'm talkin to you Res 4 and MGS) and I wanna at least rent Zelda for it since the new control scheme isn't really my cup of tea on the Wii version :(
     
  2. therevolution macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    #2
    Not that I've seen...

    Yes and yes.
     
  3. sikkinixx thread starter macrumors 68020

    sikkinixx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    Rocketing through the sky!
    #3
    groovy :D Glad to see some companies can get bc right
     
  4. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #4
    Aye aye, there basically is a Cube in there, all ports provided (barring the old underside ones). I thought about flogging my Cube, but since even Debenhams are selling them at £29.99 brand new I doubt I'd get a tenner for my little purple box :eek:
     
  5. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #5
    PAL 'Cube and PS2 was stolen in August along with a couple of dozen games (all PAL) and our PAL Toshiba widescreen CRT. Since I am insured, I could have hugged that stupid thief! ;)

    Insurance paid for a Wii and a WHOLE bunch of new (and old) games. Wavebirds on a Wii with Super Smash Bros on our new plasma. Doesn't get much better than that! :D
     
  6. kakkoiimac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Location:
    Paradise
    #6
    What i want to know is...is there a way to get back to the wii channels menu after you are done playing with the gc games? I just had to turned the console off and back on.
     
  7. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    You can eject the disk and then press reset, that's about it. There should be a way to get back to the Wii Menu but the remote does absolutely nothing when in gamecube mode. :(
     
  8. elfin buddy macrumors 6502a

    elfin buddy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Location:
    Tuttlingen, Germany
    #8
    Congratulations! I wish I had insurance when some dope stole my original N64 Smash Bros. and some GameBoy games from a yard sale a few years back.
     
  9. Malus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    #9
    A puppy dog.
     
  10. WillMak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    #10
    Do GC games run at better FPS on the Wii due to the better tech?
     
  11. GFLPraxis macrumors 604

    GFLPraxis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #11

    Probably not as I'd imagine the Wii probably clocks back to GameCube speeds when in GC compatability mode, but I'll certainly test it when I have the time; I could get my GC to lag in Rogue Squadron 3 if I used the Slave I and a seismic mine and took out all the gas tanks at once on bespin :)
     
  12. mkaake macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    mi
    #12
    I just need to know for sure whether or not the Wii allows gamecube games to access the ethernet (wireless or not)... I want to get some 8 player mariokart action going on...
     
  13. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #13
    I asked people to check that out before and alas the answer is no which really sucks. I really wanted some 8 player mariokart action too!! I've got a gamecube with a broadband adapter and a second copy of mariokart ready and waiting!
     
  14. mkaake macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    mi
    #14
    :(

    Well, guess I need to find some broadband adaptors now. I was hoping to avoid that whole mess (and having to convince others to keep their cubes around post-wii)...
     

Share This Page