gdb failure to launch

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by devdog, Jun 13, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    #1
    Xcode version 3.1.3 Debugger Console reads:
    /bin/sh: line 0: exec: arch: not found
    when attempting to launch a debug build of a simple command line application with a single breakpoint. Has anyone else had this happen?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    OR
    #2
    I'm on Intel and don't have a version of Xcode that can generate PPC code so I can't test this, but my first guess is that your target architecture isn't compatible with your current processor. My guess is you are on a PPC machine and you have only Intel builds selected.

    Complete shot in the dark on this one.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    #3
    My fault you're in the dark about host and target architecture - I should have mentioned that both are Intel. I still don't know the original cause but got around the problem by adding set start-with-shell 0 to my .gdbinit file.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    OR
    #4
    I didn't mean "shot in the dark" in the way that you didn't provide enough information in your original post. I probably wouldn't have thought to provide architecture info if I was reporting this problem. I meant it in the way of -- I've never encountered this problem, but if I did what might have caused it. I was making more of an educated guess than giving a solution from experience.

    These "But that shouldn't happen" things are hard ones to figure out. Glad you found something to get around the problem.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    jiminaus

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney
    #5
    If you're having to avoid the shell, perhaps there's a problem if your shell setup.

    If you open Terminal and run the following command, what do you get:
    Code:
    echo $PATH
    
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    #6
    I get: /usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/usr/local/bin.
     

Share This Page