geek tool // terminal question

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Heart Break Kid, Feb 9, 2004.

  1. Heart Break Kid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    if i wanted to know what the current cpu usage was, how would i go about finding out in terminal? also -- how do i find out how much memory is currently being used?

    thanks for ur help guys
     
  2. javabear90 macrumors 6502a

    javabear90

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #2
    type:

    top -u

    that should work. Do you know how to transfer files from a remote place using ssh. I need to transfer a file on my computer to a server and vise-versa. Kooo....
    Ted
     
  3. ibookin' macrumors 65816

    ibookin'

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    Use SFTP. Works like FTP but since it uses SSH it's secure. If you're running SSH on your computer, you automatically have SFTP installed. Connect using the SFTP command in the Terminal or use an SFTP client like Transmit.

    As you say, Kooo....
     
  4. Heart Break Kid thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Location:
    Toronto
    #4
    i need a shell command for geektool

    top -u doesnt seem to show anything
     
  5. musicpyrite macrumors 68000

    musicpyrite

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    #5
    First, make sure you have the shell selected, then type:

    top -l 1 45

    Hope it works, it does for me anyways.
     

Share This Page