Genius Bar... do I have to make a reservation?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by diehldun, Sep 24, 2005.

  1. diehldun macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    #1
    Hi there.

    This is going to be my (unfortunately) first time taking my powerbook to the Apple Store. It seems to be suffering from a ridiculously-slow airport connection, and I suspect that there might be something wrong inside.

    The Apple Store near my house is now closed, so I plan on going tomorrow mornng. But if I try to get there as early as possible (opens at 11:00 AM), do I still have to make a Genius Bar reservation before I go? Or can I just show up (since I am bringing my powerbook along too)?

    Sorry, it's just that I've had no experience whatsoever with the Genius Bar system :eek:


    Thanks for any replies!
     
  2. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #2
    You can make a reservation or you can walk in. If you walk in you may have to wait a little bit before they will see you
     
  3. katie ta achoo macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #3
    you can sign up over the internet. Go to apple.com/retail, find your store's page, and sign up for it.

    Or, you can get there when you want to, and sign up from a Mac in the store. Since you'll be there on a sunday, the crowd may be a little smaller.

    Either way, it's all good. Hope your problems get worked out! :)
     
  4. mrzeve macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    #4
    Making a reservation for the Genius bar depends on wether or not you have ProCare. If you do, then you can make a reservation online 7 days in advance. Otherwise, you have to wait till the store opens to go online and make a reservation.

    That early though (depending on the popularity of the store) I doubt there will be much of a wait so you can go and make an instore reservation at any of the computers in the store by click the Genius Bar icon on the desktop.

    But simply - a reservation MUST be made, yet it can be made in the store.
     
  5. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #5
    i thought you needed procare to do that? :confused:
     
  6. katie ta achoo macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #6

    Yeah, you need procare.

    You can even reserve your favorite genius.

    I'm just waiting until I have $99 for it.. I have a genius I'll reserve every time. He's a dumb punk but he knows how to help, haha. :p
     
  7. diehldun thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    #7
    yeah, because I guess the Apple Store is closed, so apple.com won't let me reserve right now, until tomorrow until they open.

    so i guess i'll just arrive there extra early tomorrow and sign up before the zoo comes.
     
  8. katie ta achoo macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #8

    I hope the crowd isn't smelly.

    I know those geniuses can be.



    /wtf?
    //I am le tired
    ///and just ate something spicy
    ////I shouldn't be allowed to post after 10 PM



    **edit**
    because zoos smell.
    I'm not saying everyone smells
    most people smell quite nice.
    well not EVERYONE
    but you know
    zoo = turtles and crocodiles
    zoo of people = smells like turtles and crocodiles?
     
  9. mrzeve macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    #9
    Sorry I wrote AppleCare, meant Procare.
     
  10. wdlove macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    #10
    I wish you the best of luck on both counts. Hope that you will post a progress report. ;)
     
  11. diehldun thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    #11

    Well! I am SO impressed with the Genius Bar service! I got there as early as I could, and the Genius helped me step-by-step, resetting the computer, etc. It's all as good as new now :)

    Apple's service is just unbelievable. And yes, it was already packed by the time I left, mostly because of the Nano :D
     
  12. katie ta achoo macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #12
    Yup! That's how the genius bar rolls.

    Just wait until you're on a first-name basis with them and they tell you that "No mac should have this many problems.. I think it's USER ERROR!" and then they point at you and laugh.

    That's the sweet spot of genius bar.

    I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. :)
     
  13. wdlove macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    #13
    I'm very happy to hear that all went well with your visit to the Genius Bar.

    I have had the same experience. They are awesome.
     
  14. mklos macrumors 68000

    mklos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    My house!
    #14
    What exactly do you mean by resetting the computer? Reloading the OS? Re-installing the AirPort Software? What? Just curious as to what exactly they did.
     
  15. proverbs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #15
    so if i wanted to make an appointment at the genuis bar, i would have to go on the apple website the day i can go and hope that they have a time slot for me at that time i need (if i am not a ProCare member)?
    the only time i have off is friday morning and saturday evenings. hopefully it will work.
    how much is a procare membership anyways? do u get other benefits from it?
     
  16. katie ta achoo macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #16
    Procare = $99.

    Uh, you aren't at a set time. It's not a real appointment. It's just a place-in-line getter.
    I've found that if I show up around 1, I'm geniused by 1:30 (gives me time to play on the PMs DROOL!) and if I'm being particularly annoying, I'd be out by 2:30 (well, today was a 2-hour long genius bar visit.. that was stupidly long)

    You can sign up at any mac in the store, too.
     

Share This Page