Genius Bar... do I have to make a reservation?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by diehldun, Sep 24, 2005.

1. diehldun macrumors 6502a

Nov 15, 2003
    Hi there.

This is going to be my (unfortunately) first time taking my powerbook to the Apple Store. It seems to be suffering from a ridiculously-slow airport connection, and I suspect that there might be something wrong inside.

The Apple Store near my house is now closed, so I plan on going tomorrow mornng. But if I try to get there as early as possible (opens at 11:00 AM), do I still have to make a Genius Bar reservation before I go? Or can I just show up (since I am bringing my powerbook along too)?

Sorry, it's just that I've had no experience whatsoever with the Genius Bar system :eek:

Thanks for any replies!
  2. eva01 macrumors 601

Feb 22, 2005
    Gah! Plymouth
    You can make a reservation or you can walk in. If you walk in you may have to wait a little bit before they will see you
  3. katie ta achoo macrumors G3

May 2, 2005
    you can sign up over the internet. Go to, find your store's page, and sign up for it.

Or, you can get there when you want to, and sign up from a Mac in the store. Since you'll be there on a sunday, the crowd may be a little smaller.

Either way, it's all good. Hope your problems get worked out! :)
  4. mrzeve macrumors 6502a

Jan 25, 2005
    Making a reservation for the Genius bar depends on wether or not you have ProCare. If you do, then you can make a reservation online 7 days in advance. Otherwise, you have to wait till the store opens to go online and make a reservation.

That early though (depending on the popularity of the store) I doubt there will be much of a wait so you can go and make an instore reservation at any of the computers in the store by click the Genius Bar icon on the desktop.

But simply - a reservation MUST be made, yet it can be made in the store.
  5. puckhead193 macrumors G3

May 25, 2004